Hamburgers and Ketchup Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Made with ground Elk and threw in an egg like a meat loaf. Meat balls came out sooo good!! I think if I had some fennel seed that would have spiced them up even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
The idea of this recipe sounded like a great one. Even while it was cooking, my husband asked "what smells so good?". When the dish was completed, I was disappointed to find my "meat patties" had fallen apart, like some of the other reviewers. Something in my heart told me I should have added a beaten egg to the meat mixture, but staying true to the recipe and to be able to review honestly, I followed the steps exactly. Flavor-wise, this dish was full of it, just not that appealling to the eyes. I would say this would make a great sloppy joe recipe, with just a little less ketchup and water and some bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh's Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This recipe did not sound very appealing, but it was great. Very easy and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weyerhaeuser, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
The burgers fell apart and basically turned to mush. It would have been better as a meatloaf. The sauce was very sweet and ketchupy. Most likely won't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I personally thought this recipe was very tasty, the family wasn't big on the sweet sauce but that dislike has nothing to do with the quality of this recipe. I found it to be very remanicent of Costco's meatloaf they have for ready to bake meals, which I also enjoy but now I can make it at home myself! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
DH really loved this one! It was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Not bad. Family seemed to like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
the taste was just "ok". but I made the meat into meatballs and when they cooked they just fell apart. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
my burgers started to fall apart mid way through cooking. was good, & everyone ate it, but i thought it was too ketchupy. next time will add some beef broth to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teaneck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Definitely 5 stars!! I made small, thick patties and they held together nicely. My husband loved them and they tasted like stuffed cabbage without the cabbage. This time I'll make steamed cabbage and mashed 'taters to go with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Twinkie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

How to Cook Hamburgers

See how to make a perfectly cooked hamburger.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States