Hamburgers and Ketchup Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
The meal was simple and surprisingly delicious. I increased the ground beef to 2 lbs and seasoned as follows: 1 ½ tblsp. McCormick Smokehouse Maple Grillmate seasoning, 1 ½ tblsp. McCormick Hamburger Grillmate seasoning, 1 cup 4c Panko seasoned bread crumbs, 1 cup ketchcup, fresh ground black pepper to taste and fresh ground sea salt to taste.. I also formed the meat into meatballs, as I thought this would be easier for my kids to handle. 2 whole onions cut into chunks worked well (next time I’ll probably add 1 more since we just like onions!) I also used a total of 3 cups of ketchup for the gravy with about 1 ½ cup water. I seasoned the ketchup gravy with onion powder, garlic powder, fresh ground black pepper and oregano to taste. This was a fun meal to make. I will definitely be making again. Who would have thought ketchup could create such a good meal. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Very good, family friendly meal. I jazzed it up with some baby bell peppers and a teaspoon of beef base added to the sauce. Next time will try adding garlic powder to the burgers and a bit less ketchup because they were a bit loose. Also used organic ketchup, which has more flavor than standard ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monticello, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Mmmmmmm - yummy! Nice and tangy! The hamburger part tended to fall apart a bit - especially when removing from the pan at the end. But it's such a hearty delicious dinner, who cares? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
not bad,but i could only get half my family to eat it,it is worth a try, by the way next time i will use an egg to hold the meat togeather i fund it fell apart very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
awesome, even with Venison burger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I followed this recipe to the letter and was not very impressed with it. I made meatballs instead of patties and even used others suggestions such as adding an egg to keep them together. They completely fell apart. I wont use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Very good, my youngest said it was like meatloaf patties. I used dehydrated onions as that all I had but it was good. Served it over mashed potatoes and the leftivers over some rice. This recipe is very adaptable to your taste, could spice it up, add veggies and use turkey. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherrycooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
For such a simple recipe, this was surprisingly delicious. The trick is to simmer for a while. Like others, I added garlic powder to the meat mixture (which I made using 2/3 beef, 1/3 chicken) as well as one egg. I still had a problem with it falling apart, so next time I'd use two eggs. For the gravy, I used only 3/4 cup of ketchup and an equal amount of water. This was fabulous served over bulgur.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
We've made it a couple times now and it's always a hit with the hubby and kids. Although it's definitely best to follow the recipe... In a mad rush, I threw some frozen hamburgers in a crockpot with diced green onions, ketchup, and water. It was a close enough second. Following the recipe is MUCH better but frozen burgers simmering in sauce was okay too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
OK...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

How to Cook Hamburgers

See how to make a perfectly cooked hamburger.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States