Hamburgers and Ketchup Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Very good, family friendly meal. I jazzed it up with some baby bell peppers and a teaspoon of beef base added to the sauce. Next time will try adding garlic powder to the burgers and a bit less ketchup because they were a bit loose. Also used organic ketchup, which has more flavor than standard ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monticello, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Mmmmmmm - yummy! Nice and tangy! The hamburger part tended to fall apart a bit - especially when removing from the pan at the end. But it's such a hearty delicious dinner, who cares? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
not bad,but i could only get half my family to eat it,it is worth a try, by the way next time i will use an egg to hold the meat togeather i fund it fell apart very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
awesome, even with Venison burger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I followed this recipe to the letter and was not very impressed with it. I made meatballs instead of patties and even used others suggestions such as adding an egg to keep them together. They completely fell apart. I wont use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Very good, my youngest said it was like meatloaf patties. I used dehydrated onions as that all I had but it was good. Served it over mashed potatoes and the leftivers over some rice. This recipe is very adaptable to your taste, could spice it up, add veggies and use turkey. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherrycooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
For such a simple recipe, this was surprisingly delicious. The trick is to simmer for a while. Like others, I added garlic powder to the meat mixture (which I made using 2/3 beef, 1/3 chicken) as well as one egg. I still had a problem with it falling apart, so next time I'd use two eggs. For the gravy, I used only 3/4 cup of ketchup and an equal amount of water. This was fabulous served over bulgur.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
We've made it a couple times now and it's always a hit with the hubby and kids. Although it's definitely best to follow the recipe... In a mad rush, I threw some frozen hamburgers in a crockpot with diced green onions, ketchup, and water. It was a close enough second. Following the recipe is MUCH better but frozen burgers simmering in sauce was okay too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
OK...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This very simple recipe was a hit with everyone in the family. The only change that I made was doubling the sauce and I let it simmer uncovered to thicken a bit. Served with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

How to Cook Hamburgers

See how to make a perfectly cooked hamburger.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States