Hamburgers and Ketchup Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
this was delicious. i added a bit of beef boullion to the gravy. very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Sunrise, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This was very good, but the kids did not like it. I added 1 T Liquid Smoke to the hambuger mix before cooking and 1 T Worchester sauce to the ketchup and water mix before simmering. Made it very rich, but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I admit I had to change a few ingredients, because I didn't have the listed. For instance I used garlic powder instead of onion powder, I used A1 in stead of steak seasoning....I did add a couple eggs to the hamburger mixture....BUT! The ketchup gravy, simmering and all was absolutely fabulous! This will be made again and again in my home! The meat held together very well, and the taste is out of this world. Comfort food is absolutely right! Thanks Jennifer for sharing this awesome recipe with us all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This is a very simple dish to make and tasted like meatloaf. During simmering, meat fell apart easily but was good, simple, comfort food for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This is exactly what it is meant to be be. Wonderful comfort food. Nothing fancy but something the kids love. This is also very similar to our grandma's meatloaf recipe, so of course we loved it even more. We put the burgers & gravy on top of steamed white rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewMexicoMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
YUMMMMMY! My family loved it! We will make it again and agin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
this was a great treat for my family. i added a few sprigs of rosemary to the gravy and that really set the flavors off. i will make this again and again. my boys loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Butler, Florida, USA
Living In: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
This recipe was GREAT! I think that if the patties fell apart during simmering then they were made wrong to begin with. They turned out PERFECT for me and my entire family loved this. I've made it several times now and this is more like a "the more you make it the better you'll get at it" recipe, each time it gets better and better. A real downhome kind of a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
I really did not enjoy this receipe - when it comes to simmering hamburger it simply does fall apart -- it won't withstand long simmering. I also did'nt like the flavor combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
I have to rated this recipe a 5 because my family really enjoyed it. I would not rate this a very "special" meal...more of an "everyday" dish. I served it with pasta and a green salad and a week later my family requested that I make it again.This time I served it with mashed potatos and fresh green beans. This is a versatile dish and easy to make. Since my family liked it so much I think I will get several pounds of ground beef and make the patties up and store them in the freezer so they are available for a quick but easy meal. Thanks Jennifer this will make the summer meal planning a little easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

How to Cook Hamburgers

See how to make a perfectly cooked hamburger.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States