Hamburgers and Ketchup Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
We call this Serbian Steak at our house(kind of a joke, we Serbs didn't have money for real steak) and make it with round steak and lots of onions. Takes a few hours of simmering in a slow oven. We serve with fried potatoes and rustic bread. Use organic ketchup to avoid high fructose corn syrup. You really don't need seasoning other than onions. Many people tend to forget that ketchup is quite a complex sauce, which you'll find if you ever make it at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItalianFoodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aliquippa, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
At first reading I was skeptical as I'm not overly fond of ketchup. I made this as written the first time and really enjoyed the flavour and simplicity. Last night I made it with a touch of garlic and 1/2 pkg of onion soup mix. For our tastes it was even better than the first time. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leamington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I haven't tried this with ground beef, I have made the gravy with chicken breasts and a diet cola, delicious. You can then shred the chicken if you want and make a barbeque sandwich. Will definately try it this way!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
For taste 5 stars. For ease of cooking 3 1/2 stars and for family health 2 stars. 1463 mg of sodium is far too much for my families arteries to process. Good? YES, good for you NO. I'll pass on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr Science

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rosharon, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Okay, wow. My 2 year old daughter had thirds! I still can't believe how much she ate. I served this with rice and broccoli and it tasted terrific. I didn't have a problem with my meat patties falling apart but they were a little delicate so beware. I loved this but I do not like how much sodium is in this so I'm going to try to make again in a healthier fashion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I loved it, husband and son thought it was OK. You have to love ketchup with this one. Reminds me of mini-meatloaves cooked in ketchup. Used ground venison and an egg to bind, along with fresh bread crumbs (all I had). Cut back on the ketchup in the meat as I added the egg. They were very tender, but did stay together. I did saute the onions until tender in the pan after browning the meat. I think they tasted better that way rather than cooked in the ketchup sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Very Good comfort food. Recipe easily changed to suit different tastes. Added red pepper cause hubby likes foods on the spicier side and it turned out great. Thanks for the super easy (and thrifty) recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fremont, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
i was thinking at first, eww ketchup gravy...but this recipe is very good!!!might i add inexpensive too. I basically used all the ingredients that was called for but i excluded the steak sauce and added some worschestire sauce. This turned our great! Cooked some rice and green beans and I had an easy meal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camilla, Georgia, USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Very easy, quick and pretty tasty. My husband loved it! Like others, the patties did not stay together well but I thought it added to the charm. Nothing wrong with all those bit of burger in the delicious red gravy! I served with mashed potatoes to which I added sour cream and chives! Really good for such a simple and quick dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Taylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
This is how I make my meatloaf now. No need to cook for ever in an oven. And the ketchup carmalizes and infuses with the flavor of the beef. I love it! Add your favorite meatloaf veggies and have a tangy meatloaf any night of the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

How to Cook Hamburgers

See how to make a perfectly cooked hamburger.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States