Hamburgers and Ketchup Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Sigh. I hate to rain on anyone's parade, but this dish was mediocre, at best. There was no complexity or subtlety to the flavors. It was ketchup and hamburger. To tell you the truth, I wish I had just made burgers and slapped some ketchup on them. I felt it was a waste of some good ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joppatowne, Maryland, USA
Living In: Myersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I was eager to try this recipe because of the ratings...but was disappointed with the results. I added an egg to the meat mixture as recommended by reviewers and had no problem with them falling apart...but the flavor of the meat and the sauce left me flat. I'm giving this a 4 star rating only because I think the recipe has great potential with tweaking. I will try again adding garlic to the meatballs and garlic and diced celery to the sauce. Will also try adding oregano and thyme to the ketchup gravy. As is...rather flat and boring...but definitely has potential with exploration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This was okay...kinda like Salisbury Steak. Reminded me of those 1950s meals, simple but heavy. If you want to keep the meat bound together good, instead of bread crumbs use a slice of bread soaked in milk with the crust removed. Press the milk out and mix the bread into your meat. It also makes the burgers tender. A good tip for your meatballs, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Oh my gosh!!!!This receipe is superb. I will make it again and again. Thank-you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShirleyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
this was a great recipe followed with no changes and family loved it. was a bit tangy which keeps me from overeating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ketron

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
We really liked this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This is a flavorfull, weeknight dish! The whole family loved it. I added 3 capfulls of vinegar, a tablespoon of mustard, and a few dasheses of worchestire and hot sauce to the gravy mix to cut through the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
We really enjoyed this. It reminded me a lot of what my mom called 'salsbury steak'. I didn't have any hamburger on hand but I did have some frozen beef patties. I served it over egg noodles and we both loved it. I'll be making this one often. NOTE: Seems a few reviewers missed the step where you put the burgers BACK INTO the sauce BEFORE you simmer it for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
not sure what all the hype is on this one...I made it for my family and wasn't all that impressed, it was very rich...would rather make my mom's meatloaf recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris from the Illinois Valley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I tried to marinate this overnight and cook in a slow oven.It smelled good but the meat was so tough you couldn't chew it. The only one who could chew it was my teenage son. Would not try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

How to Cook Hamburgers

See how to make a perfectly cooked hamburger.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States