Hamburgers and Ketchup Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I thought that this dish was 3 stars, but my hubby thought more highly of it. I should have known to add an egg to the patties but didn't, and they completely fell apart. The flavor is pretty good with the seasonings as written. It ended up being more like a sloppy joe gravy that went over mashed potatoes instead of hamburger patties with gravy. Not super impressive but it's easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Well poo,my patties fell apart so I just crumbled them into the sauce.Hubby practically licked the pan clean.A good inexpensive meal,thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I liked it, hubby hated it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I made this last night and it was a big hit with my family! Can't wait to have the leftovers tonight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
The taste of the gravy is good but I think it would be better as a sauce for a meatlong. The meat patties were falling apart and I did not like that part. I did not adjust the recipe so you may not need so mouch ketchup in the meat (or none).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Hubby loved it- It taste alot like meatloaf. The ketchup glaze is his favorite part on meatloaf, so he was in heaven. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
was ok but for me had too much ketchup tast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This is a really tasty recipe. The meatballs turn out super moist. I took the advice of other reviewers and added an egg and diminished the ketchup to make the meatballs still together. My only complaint is that there wasn't enough gravy! I think next time I might double the sauce to try to make up for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Ny husband has a sweet tooth and I have a freezer full of venison burger. So this recipe looked likely. DH moaned with delight. It was as if How-have-you-kept-this-away-from-me. The kicker is that he came home with a mixed bouquet from the florist. I found the results a tad tangy from the vinegar in the ketchup. I cooked maybe 55 minutes until all the onion looked soft and translucent. As the venison is so lean I left in the EEOV I browned the burgers in as I can always use the MUFA's, Monounsaturated Fatty Acids. The burger was real soft so I want to experiment with less breadcrumb and/or an egg addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I made this tonight and followed the directions to a T. If you like ketchup you'll like this because that's the strong flavor. I can't honestly even give this a half star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

How to Cook Hamburgers

See how to make a perfectly cooked hamburger.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States