Hamburgers and Ketchup Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
harry liked and I loved ... didnt have enough ketchup for the gravy part so used 1/2c tomato soup and 1/2c ketchup ... patties stuck toghether ok but maybe mix in egg next time .. also used panko instead bread crumbs ... not sure that make a difference or not but this a good change of pace ... better than meatloaf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This was really good! It definitely needs some tweaking the next time though...and there will be a next time! The taste was 5 star worthy, but the patties fell apart badly and after simmering 30 minutes, the patties were kind of mushy. It looked more like sloppy joe than a burger but it was still yummy served over oven baked french fries though! Next time I will use less ketchup in the patties and add an egg as a binder. I needed to add a lot more water(wound up using close to a cup and a half)to keep it from sticking and burning, then when it was almost done, I left the lid off for 5 minutes to thicken up. This is definitely some really good comfort food, thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I'm giving this 4 stars as it is a wonderful base recipe ! TY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
This tasted like breaded hamburgers that marinated in ketchup for hours. Strong Ketchup taste. I didn't really like it but my nine year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
these were very tasty, my family loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanecoco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This is a great quick weekday recipe. I sliced the onion thin and substituted worcestershire for the steak sauce. I also added a pinch of garlic powder as did another reviewer. Served it with a grocery-brand prepared mashed potatoes. 45 minutes of simmering (30 covered,stir,then 10- 15 minutes uncovered REAL low)gave me good results with a just right thick gravy. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
We served it over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Osakis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I made this Friday, didn't have any ground hamburger so I just used the frozen patties I had on hand and seasoned with my regular buger mix seasoning. My son loved I enjoyed it also thanks for the recipe will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ECURLS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
My family loves this! I made it one night when I wanted meatloaf but was short on time. This is fantastic, we now have it on a weekly basis, and I get cheers each time! The only thing that I changed was using crispy onions instead of bread crumbs and replacing the other onions with bacon. Oh, and I replaced the steak seasoning with a bullion cube just because I never have steak seasoning on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Tastes good, but didn't work out the way I hoped. I did meatballs and they fell apart....then I let them simmer and it soaked up all of the water and I ended up burning them. Next time I will just use my common sense. =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki LaFroscia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

How to Cook Hamburgers

See how to make a perfectly cooked hamburger.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States