Hamburger Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2000
I served to my family of picky eaters. They all went for seconds! I added two pounds of hamburger and it was the right amount to make this a stew. Cornbread made a good accompiant for it. Thanks for your great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2001
I cooked this for my husband and myself. We both really enjoyed it and it tastes even better leftover. I'll be preparing it again soon. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
My husband loved this soup...I did use 2 pounds hamburger..and I added a can of corn..but it was great!!and even better the second day...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
This stew proved hearty enough to fill hungry family members. It tasted great! I used 2 packages of Taco seasoning and used peas and corn instead of beans - it tasted great! I also added a few more potatos to make it thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
Thanks Terri, This is a wonderful recipe. Great for someone who is sick with a cold or just needs something warm and filling. I added more onions,carrots, potatoes then called for and left out the celery. We loved it and will make it again and again. Have to buy more Taco mix to have on hand so can make it anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
my family loved this meal. The 4 of us finished the pot the first night. What a great alternative to chili!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
This was a hit with my family... My son even went back for seconds which he rarely does. I did use 1 1/2lbs. of ground beef instead of the 1lb. just to make it a little less soupy... other than that I wouldn't change a thing. I will definitely make again. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
It was a chilly evening so I wanted to make something spiciy and hardy and saw this recipe and wanted to try it. It was great! I did do some changing since I did'nt have all the ingredients on hand. I went to the pantry and used 2 14oz. cans of sliced carrots, 1 14 oz. can of diced tomato, 1 14oz. can pinto beans and 1 box 32oz. beef broth. My wife and I loved it. I served it with cornbread and it was even better the next day served with garlic toast. This recipe is a keeper for sure for cold and chilly days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
I changed the recipe to add 2 lbs of ground beef, 3 cups of water and added the corn from 2 ears. This wonderful recipe turned out thick and tasty! Can be used so many ways - as soup, a filler for tortillas, over noodles or rice -- my husband could not stop raving about it. Have to say, allrecipes.com 5 star receipes have changed my husband's view about my cooking! He usually cooks, so, there you go!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
Mmmmmmm.... very good! To top it all, it's so easy to make. The only different thing I did is that I added 5 roma tomatoes that I seeded and chopped ( for that salsa element ), 3 beef bouillion cubes, a teaspoon of cumin for the added spice, and used only 3 carrots and 2 potatoes so the soup doesn't get overwhelmed with too much veggies. I left it all to simmer in the crock pot for 2 hours after browning the beef. It came out so good, and now becomes a staple in my family, where I am always on a quest to discover quick and easy meals to feed my kids on schooldays. Thanks, Terri, for this yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States