Hamburger Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
Very delicious soup! From other reviews I added 3 beef cubes, more hamburger and some other things in my cupboard to this basic recipe: a can of diced tomatoes, a can of black beans instead of pork and beans, package of frozen corn. AND salt and pepper--too bland before adding that. After browning hamburger (1.5 lbs) with celery and onions, I put it all in the crock pot and let it simmer on high for about 5 hours. During taste tests throughout the day, I didn't like it and thought it was too "taco-tasting" because of the taco seasoning packet, but when it cooks long enough and blends all together it is awesome. We've had 3 days of leftovers with it and I can't wait to get hungry again so I can have some more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
This stew proved hearty enough to fill hungry family members. It tasted great! I used 2 packages of Taco seasoning and used peas and corn instead of beans - it tasted great! I also added a few more potatos to make it thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
This recipe is terrible. It tastes like a what it is: a can of Pork and Beans with a bunch of stuff thrown in with it. I tried to doctor it to make it edible, but ended up throwing it all away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs Nault
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I gave this a 5 atr rating because this recipe pleased both my husband and my picky daughter! Which is almost impossible! I did make a few changes, but basically stuck to the recipe. I used canned diced tomatoes instead of tomato soup, canned potatoes and carrots (for faster easier cooking) beef broth in place of some of the water, added garlic powder for more flavor and only a 1/2 a pack of taco seasoning. It turned out great! I don't even like most of the ingrediants and I loved it as well! Thanks for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Nault

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
Thanks Terri, This is a wonderful recipe. Great for someone who is sick with a cold or just needs something warm and filling. I added more onions,carrots, potatoes then called for and left out the celery. We loved it and will make it again and again. Have to buy more Taco mix to have on hand so can make it anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
I made this recipe excluding the carrots, onions, and celery because my husband is very picky. He loved this one and I will make it again! Great flavor and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2000
I served to my family of picky eaters. They all went for seconds! I added two pounds of hamburger and it was the right amount to make this a stew. Cornbread made a good accompiant for it. Thanks for your great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
This was a great and easy recipe. I like thicker soup, so I used another can of baked beans, added some frozen mixed veggies and macaroni. Served with cornbread, this is a new favorite! It has that flavor reminiscent of grandma's cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2001
I cooked this for my husband and myself. We both really enjoyed it and it tastes even better leftover. I'll be preparing it again soon. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NeuroticRomantic
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I didn't even attempt the original ingredients due to how much negativity I read on it, but I made a version which blew me and my family away! I used 1&1/2 lb turkey meat I had seasoned before browning, 1/2 pkg AU JUS mix, 1 can condensed vegetable beef soup, I turned the 3 3/4 cup water into chicken broth using 3 chicken bullion cubes, 1 can diced tomatos, 1 c chopped onion, 1 large potato, 3 carrots and 1 celery stalk. I used the same basic directions and added dried basil, garlic powder and gracious amount of salt and pepper. The Au Jus was just perfect as a base, I was not sure about Taco Seasoning but I am not a big fan of the seasoning anyways. This version was fantastic and filled the house full of a great soupy smell! It stays in your tummy and goes amazing with french bread. Please try this version out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NeuroticRomantic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States