Hamburger Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
Very delicious soup! From other reviews I added 3 beef cubes, more hamburger and some other things in my cupboard to this basic recipe: a can of diced tomatoes, a can of black beans instead of pork and beans, package of frozen corn. AND salt and pepper--too bland before adding that. After browning hamburger (1.5 lbs) with celery and onions, I put it all in the crock pot and let it simmer on high for about 5 hours. During taste tests throughout the day, I didn't like it and thought it was too "taco-tasting" because of the taco seasoning packet, but when it cooks long enough and blends all together it is awesome. We've had 3 days of leftovers with it and I can't wait to get hungry again so I can have some more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
This stew proved hearty enough to fill hungry family members. It tasted great! I used 2 packages of Taco seasoning and used peas and corn instead of beans - it tasted great! I also added a few more potatos to make it thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
This recipe is terrible. It tastes like a what it is: a can of Pork and Beans with a bunch of stuff thrown in with it. I tried to doctor it to make it edible, but ended up throwing it all away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs Nault
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I gave this a 5 atr rating because this recipe pleased both my husband and my picky daughter! Which is almost impossible! I did make a few changes, but basically stuck to the recipe. I used canned diced tomatoes instead of tomato soup, canned potatoes and carrots (for faster easier cooking) beef broth in place of some of the water, added garlic powder for more flavor and only a 1/2 a pack of taco seasoning. It turned out great! I don't even like most of the ingrediants and I loved it as well! Thanks for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Nault

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
Thanks Terri, This is a wonderful recipe. Great for someone who is sick with a cold or just needs something warm and filling. I added more onions,carrots, potatoes then called for and left out the celery. We loved it and will make it again and again. Have to buy more Taco mix to have on hand so can make it anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
I made this recipe excluding the carrots, onions, and celery because my husband is very picky. He loved this one and I will make it again! Great flavor and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2000
I served to my family of picky eaters. They all went for seconds! I added two pounds of hamburger and it was the right amount to make this a stew. Cornbread made a good accompiant for it. Thanks for your great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
This was a great and easy recipe. I like thicker soup, so I used another can of baked beans, added some frozen mixed veggies and macaroni. Served with cornbread, this is a new favorite! It has that flavor reminiscent of grandma's cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2001
I cooked this for my husband and myself. We both really enjoyed it and it tastes even better leftover. I'll be preparing it again soon. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This was easy to make and delicious. I took it to work and shared it with co-workers. All eight of us enjoyed it. Lots of raves. Unanimous applause so it deserves 5 stars. Didn't tinker with the recipe. Will definitely make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie B

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States