Hamburger Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Yep, this one is a keeper! A nice hearty soup for a cold evening. I too left out the beans though I may try them at a later date and added some beef broth and mixed veggies. The taco seasoning gives it a little different kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I found this to be quite original...adding the baked beans really set this apart for me..I'll make it again..if I add some twists that wok I'll post it here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
The flavors don't mesh and there is too much salt and MSG thanks to the Taco Seasoning and canned tomato soup. Next time just make chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
very good, but I switched the pork and beans to chili beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This stew was pretty good! I had all the ingriedients in my fridge/cupboard. You have to like that :) I didn't change anything in the recipe but I addedd about 2 Tbsp of chopped fresh cilantro (only because I had some in my fridge) and sprinkled grated cheddar cheese on top of each bowl before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJP1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I was disappointed with this. It lacked sufficient flavor for my tastes. I tried adding additional spices, but it was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs Nault
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I gave this a 5 atr rating because this recipe pleased both my husband and my picky daughter! Which is almost impossible! I did make a few changes, but basically stuck to the recipe. I used canned diced tomatoes instead of tomato soup, canned potatoes and carrots (for faster easier cooking) beef broth in place of some of the water, added garlic powder for more flavor and only a 1/2 a pack of taco seasoning. It turned out great! I don't even like most of the ingrediants and I loved it as well! Thanks for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Nault

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Very good recipe. At first I was concerned cause it seemed a bit sweet with the Pork&Beans..But It was so very good. I didn't follow the recipe to the tee, in place of the water I used beef broth. I didn't use potatoes, but used frozen pea's and carrots & frozen corn. I also added Elbow noodles. No tomatoe soup, but in its place stew tomatoes, and a can of tomatoe sauce. I browned my meat with dried minced garlic & Onion. Anyway the hamburger stew makes a excellent base soup, and give's you your own options of add in's. I also wanted to note here that I made mine in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
It was wonderful and hearty. Great for a cold day or when you are serving a bunch of men. I used one can of beef broth and the rest of the water to equal the right amount. I also sauteed the onion then added the beef to the same pan. I only used half of the taco seasoning and it was a perfect mild spice with a little kick. I also added some tomato paste and a little ketchup. We will have this lots of times to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sauk Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I gave this 5 stars because it was so easy and fairly qick to make, as well as most of the ingredients you probably have on hand anyways. I used fajita seasoning instead, used purred diced canned tomatoes instead, added corn, and for the beans actually used maple flavored ones. I only used these changes because they were what I had. It was perfect! I will for sure make this again, and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States