Hamburger Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
verty tasty - really an alternative to chilli
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
i Made this pretty much according to the directions with the following exceptions. I increased the water to 4-5 cups and added 2 beef bullion cubes and 2 packets of Goya tomato bullion. i also omitted the pork and beans and added a large can ( 30oz) of pinto beans. i also added more veggies. 1 can of spinach (not drained), 1/2 a med. head of cauliflower, 1/2 head of med to large cabbage (chopped), 1 large sweet potato, and 1-2 cups frozen corn, I also increased the potatoes 4-5 large ones. It may seems like a lot of bullion but because of the added water as well as added veggies it balanced out, if its too salty u can always add more water, but it ends up more stew like. (stewp a la Rachel Ray) By adding more veggies you also stretch the recipe we had it for dinner a lunch , I then froze it and we had a BIG dinner with the remainder!!! ENJOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This is really a wonderful simmering soup, perfect for those out there who love to throw anything and everything into a pot! The Pork n' Beans, tomato soup and taco seasoning come together quite nicely. This base is so perfect that you can get away with adding almost anything ... diced tomatoes, pasta instead of potatoes, and maybe some green beans. I added a 1/2 bag of Knorr's vegetable soup to it just because I had it in the cupboard (and b/c I didn't have enough taco seasoning). Thanks for the recipe! We really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This is a yummy recipe and great for a cold winter's day. There are all kinds of variations and subsitutes you could try, but this was good as is. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Sutliff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: New Castle, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I made this exactly as directed except, by mistake, I took out a can of tomatoes with green chilies instead of regular tomatoes. It was absolutely fantastic. I think it would have too bland with the little kick. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Henson-Mizikar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mammoth, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen N
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Very good "soup". I had to make a few changes based on what was on hand. Used: 1 can diced tomatoes(basil, oregano,garlic) instead of tomato soup 3 beef bouillon cubes + 4 cups water 1 1/2 cups chopped cabbage I sauteed the onions, celery, cabbage with the ground beef for several minutes before adding all the additional ingredients. Good soup! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen N

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I was a little skeptical--not a big red meat fan but it was very good. My "meat and potatoes" husband and in-laws loved it too. It was a great way to get them to eat some veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I used a frozen package of vegetable for soup instead of the potatoes and carrots. My picky eaters (husband and son) absolutely loved it! This one is definitely going into the routine supper repetoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elwood, Indiana, USA
Living In: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Absolutely delicious. I didn't have any hamburger meat on hand, so I used beef dinner sausage instead, and it turned out great. I will however use just a pinch less taco seasoning next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Very good. I added some egg noodles at the end. The kids and husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States