Hamburger Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
added corn, lima beans, omitted pork and beans, used only half taco seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Made this for dinner tonight. Easy meal with stuff from the fridge. Great for those cold winter nights. Left out the beans though and used tomato basil sauce that I had left over instead of the soup. Kids (5 & 2) ate every drop in their bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYCTERIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawtell, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tujunga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Just like most people, I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I added a 28oz can of diced tomatoes, 6oz can of tomato paste and added only 3 cups of water. I tasted it after cooking it for 45 min and the veggies were tender but it was bland as all get out. I added fresh ground pepper and kosher salt and the dish came to life. My 2 1/2 year old didn't like it, my 6 year old thought that is was ok, and my wife thought it was good. I really liked it and was pleased to sneak some veggies into the kids. I will be taking it for lunch tomorrow as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newheart98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chelan, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I made this a few weeks ago, and am making again this weekend, tasted like a vegetable chili. I used Chili seasoning mix instead. I used ground turkey instead of beef and used a can of diced tomatoes instead of the soup. You can really add anything to it. Now that I think about it, I added a can of corn too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This was certainly what I call an "Inspirational Recipe." I didn't know what I wanted to do for dinner, but searched for g. beef recipes to use what I had and this was one that popped up. I added 1/2 lb more beef; 1/4 c. more water; can of kidney beans instead of pork n beans; fresh garlic; italian seasoning; salt n pepper; 1 can of diced n spiced tomatoes; sm can of sliced mushrooms; 1/2 green pepper, diced; a 1/2 can leftover corn. Without fresh vegi's (right after Christmas,) I used a can of mixed vegi's instead and added a can of diced potatoes too. EVERYONE LOVED THIS! The taco seasoning Is ESSENTIAL, I think. Even my picky, picky 7 yr old loved this! I think dumplings would be great in this if one didn't have potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlaskaGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This was a good start but it was quite flavorless so like a previous reviewer I added 3 packets of beef OXO and for my own personal taste I also added 3/4 Cup of Salsa. I was out of potatoes but replaced them with hash browns and it came out like a wonderful chili without beans! Served with a dallop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by island jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Strathmore, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
great comfort food! I only changed things based on what was in my pantry - 1/2 packet hot&spicy taco seasoning, 2c. tomato soup, 2c. veggie broth, carrots, potatoes, onion, 1/2 c. cooked spinach, and a can of kidney beans. You could probably do alot with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sambev

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This was really good. I followed the basic recipe as listed and added 1 can of mushroom pieces (without liquid), 1 red pepper chopped really fine, 1 can corn drained and 1 cup of frozen peas. Family loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I followed this recipe closely, but instead of using pork & beans, which I had used a couple of days ago, I had a can of bean with bacon soup. I was afraid I was going to have to throw out what I had prepared. It was redeemed by a frozen pkg of mixed veggies. Out of 5 at supper, only 3 liked it & 2 didn't get enough to eat. I guess I'll be going back to my mother's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rayni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This was really a hearty stew/soup. I used 96%lean ground beef,skipped the pork and beans as I had none and subtituted a 16oz can of crushed tomatoes instead. Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States