Hamburger Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Quick and easy dinner. I added a small handful of penne pasta, replaced the can of tomato soup with diced tomatoes, and added black beans instead of the pork and beans--wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I have added/omitted a couple of items. Instead of pork and beans I substitute a couple of cans of black beans. I also use a can or two Italian style diced tomatoes instead of tomato soup. I also add some frozen corn, fresh mushrooms,diced red pepper and also a healthy dose of fresh minced garlic. We are a hunting family so we use elk and/or venison burger. I brown the meat, toss it all in a pressure cooker (during winter months)and 12-13 minutes later I am fighting off the kids. In the summer this is a real hit in a dutch oven over a campfire. This is one of those dishes that tricks people into thinking the old man can cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Very good and very easy to make. I too made some substitutions based on our personal tastes and what I had on hand. I used pinto beans(what I had in the pantry) and added a sprinkling of red pepper flakes. I also substituted 2 C beef broth for part of the water. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Ventura Griffith-Kenned

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
ONE WORD....YUMMY!!! Used half pack of taco seasoning and canned carrots and potatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Blytheville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Parsons, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I really enjoyed this. It was different from any other soup I have made before. Very hearty. 1 small bowl filled me up. Used cut up leftover steak instead of hamburger because I had it on hand. I added noodles but I think it would have been better without them. The only thing I might add next time would be some cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Absolutely LOVE this recipe!!! My daughter is VERY picky and I'm a new cook. I made a full crock pot full, even had to much and had to put some in a pot on the store, but we had NO leftovers! My daughter and husband devoured it. Have made it a few times and will continue doing so. My daughter asks for it!! I added kidney beans instead of pork n beans and diced tomotoes instead of tomoto soup. Thank you for sharing, this has become a fav for my family!! God Bless you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This soup was very tasty! I did add 3 tbsp. of chicken bovril, a couple of dashes of worcestershire and soya sauce. I also added salt, pepper and crushed chili peppers for a kick. I used kidney beans instead of pork and beans as that's what I had in the cupboard. Very good outcome, I'll definitely make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lachine, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I loved this recipe. Althouh I did add corn, green beans, sea salt, pepper, garlic powder and bacon grease to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I was a little hesitant to put the pork and beans in this, but it all worked together. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I made this tonight using the Taco Seasoning I recipe on allrecipes instead of a taco seasoning packet. It gave it a bit of a kick. It was almost too spicy for me, but my husband really liked it. I have to disagree with the person who gave the one star review saying that it tasted like pork in beans with a bunch of other stuff thrown in. We could hardly taste the pork and beans in this. The flavors of the other ingredients were much stronger. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States