Hamburger Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
My faimly loved this soup. I doubled the recipe and gave some to my sister-in-law. They loved it also. We ate it with warm crusty bread and the kids had it with grilled cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
Mmmmmmm.... very good! To top it all, it's so easy to make. The only different thing I did is that I added 5 roma tomatoes that I seeded and chopped ( for that salsa element ), 3 beef bouillion cubes, a teaspoon of cumin for the added spice, and used only 3 carrots and 2 potatoes so the soup doesn't get overwhelmed with too much veggies. I left it all to simmer in the crock pot for 2 hours after browning the beef. It came out so good, and now becomes a staple in my family, where I am always on a quest to discover quick and easy meals to feed my kids on schooldays. Thanks, Terri, for this yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
This recipe was great! I have a husband in Med school and this recipe was inexpensive to make and tasted wonderful. I took some advice from other reviewers and added corn and that made it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
Everyone seemed to like this well enough. I added 1/2lb. more hamburger than it called for and more onion, so I also added extra chili power and garlic. I think next time I would use kidney beans instead of the baked beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
I changed the recipe to add 2 lbs of ground beef, 3 cups of water and added the corn from 2 ears. This wonderful recipe turned out thick and tasty! Can be used so many ways - as soup, a filler for tortillas, over noodles or rice -- my husband could not stop raving about it. Have to say, allrecipes.com 5 star receipes have changed my husband's view about my cooking! He usually cooks, so, there you go!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
It was a chilly evening so I wanted to make something spiciy and hardy and saw this recipe and wanted to try it. It was great! I did do some changing since I did'nt have all the ingredients on hand. I went to the pantry and used 2 14oz. cans of sliced carrots, 1 14 oz. can of diced tomato, 1 14oz. can pinto beans and 1 box 32oz. beef broth. My wife and I loved it. I served it with cornbread and it was even better the next day served with garlic toast. This recipe is a keeper for sure for cold and chilly days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
This soup tasted ok, but was not a favorite at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
I really liked this soup but my kids who are picky eaters did not. I left the pork and beans out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
This was a hit with my family... My son even went back for seconds which he rarely does. I did use 1 1/2lbs. of ground beef instead of the 1lb. just to make it a little less soupy... other than that I wouldn't change a thing. I will definitely make again. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
The kids and I really liked the soup the first night and the kids asked for it for dinner the next day. Well to me and the whole family the soup really lost something the next day it seemed that all the flavor desided to head south for the winter. I will probably make this again but if there are any leftovers I will make sure the dogs get a good dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States