Hamburger Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
We really enjoyed this recipe. At first my husband thought the pork and beans taste was too strong, but we put fresh cilantro on top and some sour cream and he loved it. I added the corn like people suggested. I actually think hominy would be better than corn - better texture. I also added thyme, a bay leaf, and crushed red pepper. A great and easy recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
This was the best dish I have made for a long time. I followed the recipe pretty closely. I used tomato sauce omitted the celery and used a large can of BAKED beans. The flavor was wonderful and it was very hearty and thick. It was such a new twist on stew with the baked bean flavor. I have already added this to my favoirte recipes. Thanks so much for this great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
Very delicious soup! From other reviews I added 3 beef cubes, more hamburger and some other things in my cupboard to this basic recipe: a can of diced tomatoes, a can of black beans instead of pork and beans, package of frozen corn. AND salt and pepper--too bland before adding that. After browning hamburger (1.5 lbs) with celery and onions, I put it all in the crock pot and let it simmer on high for about 5 hours. During taste tests throughout the day, I didn't like it and thought it was too "taco-tasting" because of the taco seasoning packet, but when it cooks long enough and blends all together it is awesome. We've had 3 days of leftovers with it and I can't wait to get hungry again so I can have some more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
Real good soup, I added a large can of tomato sauce and less water so it made it more tomato tasting. Will try it again without but it still had a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Made a double batch tonight, used a large can of Bush's beans and the corn, The husband and the granddaughter's loved it.Asked if we have it again, all said yes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
This recipe is terrible. It tastes like a what it is: a can of Pork and Beans with a bunch of stuff thrown in with it. I tried to doctor it to make it edible, but ended up throwing it all away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
I'm making this for the second time tonight. Instead of the veggies listed I used a bag of frozen vegtable soup veggies and a can of tomatoes. Tonight I'm going to try it with a bag of "gumbo mix" veggies and tomatoes. It's so easy and my husband loves it. I call it "taco soup".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAYLA207

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
My faimly loved this soup. I doubled the recipe and gave some to my sister-in-law. They loved it also. We ate it with warm crusty bread and the kids had it with grilled cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
Mmmmmmm.... very good! To top it all, it's so easy to make. The only different thing I did is that I added 5 roma tomatoes that I seeded and chopped ( for that salsa element ), 3 beef bouillion cubes, a teaspoon of cumin for the added spice, and used only 3 carrots and 2 potatoes so the soup doesn't get overwhelmed with too much veggies. I left it all to simmer in the crock pot for 2 hours after browning the beef. It came out so good, and now becomes a staple in my family, where I am always on a quest to discover quick and easy meals to feed my kids on schooldays. Thanks, Terri, for this yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
This recipe was great! I have a husband in Med school and this recipe was inexpensive to make and tasted wonderful. I took some advice from other reviewers and added corn and that made it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States