Hamburger Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
It's pretty good, but the name should be changed from Hamburger Stew to Mexican Hamburger soup. I will probably make this again but throw in some macaroni noodles to thicken it up to a stew consistency. Flavour is good with addition of salt and pepper. Good basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurencelle
Home Town: La Broquerie, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: St. Adolphe, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
This was a great and easy recipe. I like thicker soup, so I used another can of baked beans, added some frozen mixed veggies and macaroni. Served with cornbread, this is a new favorite! It has that flavor reminiscent of grandma's cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
I followed the recipe almost exactly, with the exception of adding some salt since it was tasting a bit bland. The flavor is defiintely good and the whole thing was super-easy to make. For my next go around, I will take the advice of other cooks and use less water and maybe add some tomatoes to the mix. Maybe even add some tomato paste to thicken it up a bit. Also, simmer longer than 30 minutes; I did it for 45 minutes and although it tasted fine, I think it will taste better if I left it for a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
I followed the recipe NEARLY exactly, leaving out celery because I forgot to buy it. I salted my hamburger. And also used "hot" taco seasoning. My family tried this immediately after the potatoes were cooked through. I thought the pork and beans were a bit too prevalent. But, my husband LOVED it exactly as it was. He ate FIVE bowls. FIVE!!! He ate two bowls for breakfast the next day. Maybe he’s just thrilled that I actually cooked something besides a pie. But, I think it’s safe to say that this is a man pleaser for sure! I personally would rate it a four, but I’m taking my family into account and rating it a five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quiet_place

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
We really enjoyed this recipe. At first my husband thought the pork and beans taste was too strong, but we put fresh cilantro on top and some sour cream and he loved it. I added the corn like people suggested. I actually think hominy would be better than corn - better texture. I also added thyme, a bay leaf, and crushed red pepper. A great and easy recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
This was the best dish I have made for a long time. I followed the recipe pretty closely. I used tomato sauce omitted the celery and used a large can of BAKED beans. The flavor was wonderful and it was very hearty and thick. It was such a new twist on stew with the baked bean flavor. I have already added this to my favoirte recipes. Thanks so much for this great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
Very delicious soup! From other reviews I added 3 beef cubes, more hamburger and some other things in my cupboard to this basic recipe: a can of diced tomatoes, a can of black beans instead of pork and beans, package of frozen corn. AND salt and pepper--too bland before adding that. After browning hamburger (1.5 lbs) with celery and onions, I put it all in the crock pot and let it simmer on high for about 5 hours. During taste tests throughout the day, I didn't like it and thought it was too "taco-tasting" because of the taco seasoning packet, but when it cooks long enough and blends all together it is awesome. We've had 3 days of leftovers with it and I can't wait to get hungry again so I can have some more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
Real good soup, I added a large can of tomato sauce and less water so it made it more tomato tasting. Will try it again without but it still had a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Made a double batch tonight, used a large can of Bush's beans and the corn, The husband and the granddaughter's loved it.Asked if we have it again, all said yes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
This recipe is terrible. It tastes like a what it is: a can of Pork and Beans with a bunch of stuff thrown in with it. I tried to doctor it to make it edible, but ended up throwing it all away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States