Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
Excellent! A very hearty and satisfying dish when coupled with mashed potatoes to put that thick savory gravy on. The only change I made to this superb recipe was to double it and I'm glad I did. My whole family loved it and requested we have it again soon. I'm emailing this one on to my friends and putting it in the front of my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
Excellent hamburger steak!! Easy and quick to mix up and it was delicious. I used more of the seasonings to add to the flavor of the ground beef. I served it with the Brown Rice recipe that I found also on this site, along with some green peas. I was a hit at my dinner table. I only had a few remanents of the gravy left when I got ready to wash dishes. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
This is a good recipe. I used Laura's x-lean gr. beef . I made 3 larger patties since that is what I needed.Since the beef was so lean,I added a little extra oil before adding the flour because I had very little in the way of pan drippings. I also used a whole can of beef broth and no sherry. Extra gravy will made next time...We had it with mashed potatoes and peas.My husband and daughter enjoyed it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
This is quite good...seasonings are on the mark, and I loved what the sherry did for the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
These were fantastic!! I added some mushrooms and served them with hot buttered noodles. The kids absolutely loved them!! Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYPHAT55

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
Very quick and easy - my 7 year-old even helped. I doubled the amount of gravy (used 2 cups beef broth, more sherry, and more flour), but otherwise the recipe was dead on. A great weeknight dinner served with rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
Really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livingston, Montana, USA
Living In: Goldendale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
Excellent! Great change from plain old hamburgers. Family loved the flavor. This will definitely be a repeater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Caron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
This recipe was great. Simple and yet very satisfying. To make the gravy, I used a packaged brown gravy mix as the base and added flavor with the sherry, bay leaf and thyme. Very easy and tasty. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
I'm rating this 5 stars because it was pretty tasty and it was easy and fast to make. I didn't have garlic powder or onion powder so I just used 1/2 tsp of garlic salt and gave an extra sprinkle of some "ono hawaiian season salt" that I had in the beef mixture. You could probably add any type of salt for extra flavor. I also ended up using an entire can of beef broth as I like a lot of gravy. In addition, I used seasoned bread crumbs and instead of browning in oil, I just sprayed the pan with Pam. It came out just as tasty and you can add more salt to the gravy if you desire. Next time I might add a can of mushrooms, too. Thanks Anne. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States