Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Thanks for sharing this recipe! It tasted so delicious, but was deceptively easy to make. I didn't make any changes except for omitting the sherry since I didn't have any. Served with white rice and mixed veggies - great way to use ground beef. Will go into our regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This wasn't something my parents ever fed me growing up, I only just learned I like this Salisbury steak kind of meal when I had it recently at the cafeteria at work. I was really excited to try this recipe, it sounded great. It also smelled fantastic while it was cooking. That smell didn't completely translate into the taste though. It was good, but not *great*. I agree with one review I read that said the patties tasted very 'meaty'. I realize that's a silly thing to say about a hunk of meat, but I can't think of another way to describe it. I think it was actually the taste of the drippings in the gravy though. I think I would have preferred to drain most of the drippings and add some butter to the pan to finish cooking the onions and make the gravy; it could maybe just be that I'm used to buying extra lean ground beef and bought lean this time. I also would have liked more onion; I didn't really realize how little there was in the pan until I went to serve. They cooked down quite a bit. My gravy was also lumpy but that's really no one's fault but my own. I put too much flour I think, maybe I shouldn't have quite doubled that when I doubled the gravy. I didn't have sherry so I used a splash of red wine in the gravy and that was good. Thanks for the recipe, I was happy to try it and I enjoyed the meal, but I think I'll try a different recipe the next time I want this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Quick and good. Made this recipe in under 20 minutes (including prep time)! I had gravy left over so I saved it and made the steaks again a few days later. This one is fool proof and a go to for a quick fix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This was a crowd pleaser! I added mushrooms with the onions and it turned out great. I'm cooking it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbij

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Good but could be tastier. Next time I would double the onion powder and worcestershire and use real garlic instead powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Excellent! Followed recipe exactly & it was a hit, even with my picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Have made these several times & each time they just get better! Family LOVES them! (Made them with ground venison & they were exceptional! My husband, who will not eat deer, didn't even know the difference!) This is truly a keeper! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Deliciously satisfying and easy to make, even for a novice like me. I made 6 patties (rather than 8), omitted the sherry and onion powder (because I didn't have any of either), and served the meal over white rice. As others have suggested, I would definitely recommend doubling the gravy. Also, I might try adding mushrooms the next time I make this as it would further enhance an already tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I made this last minute so I didnt have the cooking sherry. My husband and son both enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I may not have put enough seasonings into mine but this tasted like meatloaf with a less salty gravy. The patties were also flimsy, but that could have been because I had my fiancé shape them ;). The gravy was not as robust as I would have liked it to be so maybe adding a beef bouillon cube would have done the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States