Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I made the basic recipe and added sour cream to give it a rich creamy sauce. Then I used a culinary broth which includes a nonalcoholic sherry. This gave it a nice flavor. Plus I added mushrooms to the gravy. I was happy with this version of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Amazing!! I did have the sherry and it was great even without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry Sotelo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
We love this recipe! After I brown the patties I put them in the slow cooker, then proceed with everything else. I do add in a packet of brown gravy mix and some fresh mushroom with the broth, let it all thicken up and then pour it over the patties. A few hours on low and dinner is set! The last time I made this I had some leftover mashed potatoes that I turned into potato pancakes, served the burger on the pancake with the gravy, onion, and mushrooms, DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Mercier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Followed the meat portion of the recipe and the patties were tougher/dryer than I like. Next time I will add A1 to the meat mixture. For the gravy I used one onion sautéed to beginning to carmelize. Instead of beef broth I used 1can of French onion soup and a splas of red wine and water with flour. The gravy was good. For a quicker version, use bubba burgers sauteed in A1 along with the onion gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This was great! Someone said something about it tasting like a box dinner which is not true. Maybe the meat they had wasn't great. I used wheat flour and my husband ate this quickly! Loved it and will be making it again. Thank you for the recipe. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Followed the recipe and "Loved It".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUNASCOMET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Really nice, great flavour out of some simple hamburger and onions....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobTanner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Aside from the cooking sherry, I make this recipe exactly as written. I use Worcestershire instead of sherry (I keep forgetting to pick some up at the store). But it still taste amazing. I have a big family, so I always double the recipe. Its a big hit, one of the families favorite dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
This was a very tasty and quick meal! My hubby loves gravy, so i added double the onions, flour, and beefstock, but otherwise followed it to the tee with great results! :) Will for sure make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CoachT
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I really liked this recipe after cooking tonight and will cook again!! Cooked in my cast iron pot that I think really helped it all coke together. I did do not follow recipe exactly. First off I did not use the sherry. I did increase the spice/heat by using hot & spicy bread crumbs, also used hot slap ya mama seasoning for the salt portion, and of course a little cayenne red pepper as well. Had the exact heat I like and wanted in the recipe and also helped the onions and gravy taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,497) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States