Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly as stated, except that I doubled everything. The meat came out a bit bland for my taste, but that can easily be improved next time by adding more or different spices. The gravy came out perfect, and I am TERRIBLE at making gravy! Will definitely need to double-double the gravy next time. Perfect with mashed potatoes and peas. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Very good and so easy to make. I made up the patties the night before so all I had to do when I got home was fry them up and make the gravy. :) I followed the recipe as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
When you rate, cook it as is. I gave four stars because I was missing the sherry and did not substitute. Besides this change to the recipe, this was very good. The gravy was delicious. Made this with mashed potatoes and green beans. My husband has requested this multiple times since I first made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This turned out delicious. I sautéed some sliced mushrooms because I love mushrooms with meat and gravy. My husband loved it and said I could add it to my menu rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birch Run, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Great recipe. I went straight by the hamburger steak recipe and it was perfect. I did a little tweaking with the gravy. I replaced the onions with mushrooms (didn't have onions on hand). The gravy was too thick and didn't have enough flavor so I added an extra 1/2 cup of beef broth, big tbsp. of margarine, extra sherry, salt, pepper. It was delicious! I wish I had doubled up on the gravy as others suggested so I could have extra for my mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
RECIPE IS PERFECT AS IS BUT..... for our preference, I tripled the recipe for my big eatin family, quadrupled the gravy as we love. Added fresh garlic and sliced mushrooms to the onion mixture, fresh chopped parsley and more spices such as oregano to the meat mixture. Use only cornstarch for gravy..no lumps and taste much better. Use less - 1tbs. Of cornstarch to 2tbs. Of flour! (DO NOT SKIP the Sherry, it is A MUST and I always use more as I add it to the onion mixture (I use REAL SHERRY.. YUM). Made this three times and the third I didn't have enough beef broth so I did add a can of golden mushroom soup (which I hate doing) but I have to say it was REALLY GOOD! Served with mashed potatoes (ANOTHER MUST) and fresh spinach. MY FAMILY LOVES THIS RECIPE, Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie'sKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandabear1978
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This was delicious, the only change I made the second time around was that I made a double batch. My family loved it and ate every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Wow! Best hamburger steak ever. I added sauteed mushrooms and replaced the sherry (don't care for it) with 1 teaspoon of worchestershire in the gravy. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Charleston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mikado, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Great recipe from my childhood. Like recipes with wine, we omitted the sherry as we don't keep it on hand. It was still perfect. Tasted just like my mom used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States