Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by westcoastmom
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
The best Salisbury steak on here! I love that it doesn't use any canned or boxed soups and gravy. I used a cornstarch slurry instead of flour, and doubled the recipe. I didn't have the cooking sherry, but I used a couple drops of soy sauce just to add the browning flavor, so I left out the salt and just used garlic and pepper in the gravy for seasoning. This reminds me of the old tv dinners we had as kids, so I served them in retro divider plates with mashed potatoes and corn. My kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Made as written, served with mashed potatoes. The gravy is yummy so if you have enough broth you should double the recipe. Very good for a day when soft foods were necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JULIAGULIA3
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
I made it exactly as the recipe was written and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIAGULIA3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Made the recipe exactly as stated. It made for good comfort food. Good recipe for ground beef and great comfort food recipe will make it again. My family and I enjoyed this. I made it with mashed potatoes and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Just made this for dinner because I was looking for a simple meal that I had all the ingredients for. YUM! I tweaked it just a little by cooking the patties first, then the onions after with some fresh mushrooms before making the gravy. I used about 1-1/2 cups of beef broth because I didn't have any sherry and it was fine. Served with simple boiled cabbage. Delicious! This is going into the regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
WOW, LOVE this recipe! The gravy is the BEST! LOVE LOVE LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Lewis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Delicious! My family enjoyed immensely. An added bonus: it was very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Made it according to the recipe. Came out delicious! Even my two year old son devoured it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I didn't follow the directions I just took your idea and did my own thing. Thanks when I actually have all the ingredients I will attempt to make this how it's supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I'm always looking for creative uses for ground beef and this one is a keeper! I really like that it calls for everything that I already had in my pantry. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,509) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States