Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Good. We liked it. Nothing too special. I doubled the broth to make more gravy, but it still was not enough gravy. The flavor of the gravy, however, was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Photo by Mai Hany
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I loved this recipe .. I just made it for lunch and my parents loved it But I made 3 adjustments , I didn't have Worcestershire sauce so I searched online for substitution and I found out I can use soy sauce , so I used it .. And I didn't have sherry and all its substitutions are alcoholic but we don't drink alcohol so I did the whole recipe without it .. Also I used beef stock instead if broth However , the recipe turned out really good Thank you very much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mai Hany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Great basic comfort food and so much quicker than meatloaf. Agree with others who recommend using fresh garlic and grated onion. Will probably tweak it a bit next time but there WILL be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Made this recipe last night and loved it! It was raining outside and I'm sick with a cold so I wasn't about to go out to the grocery store for anything. Did a search by ingredients. All I had to work with was some ground beef and I did have some onions. Found this recipe and I had all the ingredients except the cooking sherry. I used red wine vinegar like another reviewer suggested. This recipe will definitely be on our favorites list! When I first cut into the "steak" with my fork, I thought maybe it wasn't done because it cut so easily. But it was done and it just about melted in my mouth. So good. The gravy had a great flavor and our house smelled awesome! I will say that there's no way you can get eight patties from a pound of ground beef. Those would be meatballs. LOL I did four. There's just two of us so we get to have it for dinner again tonight! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I followed directions exactly plus doubled the gravy. These were okay. They need something. I am not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I always use a recipe as it calls first then if there are ideas my family would love I add it next time if the meal was a hit. This soooo was a hit!!!!! None left at all I may need to make this again really soon. Was thinking I could even add shredded veggies into the beef so I can sneak some in on them lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Made exactly as written. One word... Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I added mushrooms with the onion. I also added an egg as a binder for the meat mixture. I have made this many times, with and with out the wine. The wine adds a deep rich flavor just from the sweetness. Serve with a green salad and potato's. Awesome dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
This recipe is spot on, just like my grandmother made, trouble is I did not like it then nor do I now. I did make this for my 80 something parents and they about lost their minds, can't remember when they enjoyed a meal so much. I followed the recipe exactly as written; no changing this or that. They requested I make it for their friends next week only this time I should cook the vegetables right. So, if you want to do something nice for your mom and dad make this meal and remember to turn those vegetables into mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,538) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States