Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Wow, these were delicious !!! I followed the recipe exactly as written just doubled the gravy. Served over mash potatoes. What a hit with the family, they loved it. I will definitely be serving this again soon. - Mk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laceyworks
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This is my go to hamburger steak recipe. I made it the first time with cooking sherry, but it's not something I keep in my pantry, so I just omit it now. Sometimes I also replace the seasoned salt in the patties with Tony Chachere's original creole seasoning. I love that this recipe is flexible and easily modified! I will continue to use it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laceyworks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This was an amazing recipe! Even my very picky 7 yr old loved it! It was also very simple to follow and put together. I didn't have any bread crumbs, so i crushed up half a package of saltines instead. I also did not have any cooking sherry, so I just left that out. I took another's suggestion to double up the gravy however, and am very glad I did! All in all, this made a fantastic dinner and I will be adding it in to our monthly rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by YoungWife
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I absolutely adore these and so does the hubby! We have made them twice now since discovering the recipe about a week ago. I don't have cooking sherry so I've omitted that thus far :) the first time I added some vanilla extract instead and the 2nd time I didn't. It was good both ways! I use green onions, the entire bundle including the white parts instead of a regular onion and we love it this way. The 2nd time I made it I added half a lb of hamburger more and half of each ingredient more so that we got more patties. I found it makes 8 if you do that, as we like our patties to be of a good size :) The sauce comes out perfect!! Adding pics as well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
This recipe is a keeper. My husband couldn't stop saying how good it tasted! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Photo by deanna252
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
This was so easy and delicious! My husband raved at how good it was. I wanted to try something different than the hamburger steak I normally cook. So glad I found this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Not sure it's the healthiest meal but it was good old comfort food. Family was very pleased. Thank you for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covina, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I really like this recipe! The one thing I did change is that I added the flour after the broth and the sherry...it made it easier to get up the onions and bits off the bottom and prevented the flour from clumping. Very easy to make, I made one batch for my father and the other for me and my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Double the gravy recipe part and serve over mashed potatoes for a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Super XD I loved it delicious and easy to make I us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States