Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
My family and I LOVED this recipe. I made the recipe as is, with the exception of using cube steaks instead of hamburger pattys. Because of this, the cooking time was longer (approx 30 minutes) in order for the steak to get tender. Received raved reviews from everyone. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I've made this recipe twice. But I've always altered it to what I had available. There's really no screwing it up unless you can't cook and have no sense of smell or taste. You just go by taste and smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This was a great way to make juicy hamburgers. I will be making this again in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Sanders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by madirr
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Made this with a little more than a cup of onions, made more gravy, and substituted vanilla for sherry. Soooooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I loved this recipe. I changed very little. I didn't have seasoned salt or cooking sherry, so I used regular salt and simply omitted the sherry. I made four larger patties instead of 8 small ones. The only complaint I had is I wish there was more gravy, so text time I may add an extra cup of broth and a bit more flour? The taste was just right and comforting. I served it with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheLazyChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This was very quick and easy! The whole family enjoyed it. I used a bit of reserved bacon fat to give some smokey flavor when I cooked the onions. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bbrowneyes64
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Made this recipe as stated except two things, left out salt due to salt restriction and used Marsala wine because that's what I had. To me the burgers were more like meatloaf. I prefer to taste a little more beef when eating this way. I will make again however not using the bread crumbs and eggs. Gave 3 stars because it was just. "ok" for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Just made this tonight and it turned out absolutely delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and I think it tasted perfect, no need to change a thing. Super easy, pretty quick to make and very satisfying. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I added cream of mushroom soup instead of cooking sherry and came out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
If you change or tweak a recipe then don't rate it! How can you be critical of a dish that you took liberties with? I will leave a review if I followed the recipe explicitly and it came out ho-hum...then and only then will I review it. Most of these recipes are a great starting place for a great meal to suit your personal tastes, however, the end result is your personal grade and not the submission's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States