Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Super Yummy!! I made one substitution and one addition. I also doubled the gravy and made 1 1/2 meat patties (made 7). It was a day where I had to run out to do an errand late afternoon so I cooked the onions slowly in olive oil and threw in 8 oz. of sliced mushrooms that I had near the end (the addition). I made the patties while this cooked and put them in the fridge while I let the onion mix cool and ran out. I then took the onions out of the pan, browned the patties, took them out and rhen deglazed the pan with white wine (the substitution-no sherry). I think red wine would work, too. I put the onion mix back in and followed the gravy instructions. I returned the patties as directed. I served with mashed potatoes and steamed broccoli. The gravy was DELICIOUS. Hubby said very little during dinner-he was eating up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I followed the recipe which is hard to do for me because I love to cook. I believe if I am going to rate a recipe then I should follow the recipe. Anyhow it's lacked flavor, next time, I will create my own
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Excellent, excellent recipe! I used a little too much oil, which turned out all right because it made extra gravy. The only reason I give it four stars instead of five is because although the gravy was excellent and the steaks were nice and tender, they were a little bland. A little extra Worcestershire would probably fix that. All in all, a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Made this recipe exactly as written. I did make extra gravy though. It came out delicious. My kids couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
this recipe is great!! i subed ground turkey and added fresh sliced mushrooms to this. i also added sauteed diced onions and green peppers to the ground turkey mixture. taste was fantastic! definitely saving this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This was excellent. My sweetheart is hard to please and he loved it. Followed the other reviewers tips..used French's mush/onion gravy mix, added a can of cream of mushroom. Used beef broth instead of water in the onion/mush gravy mix, used very little ketchup and a bit of au us powdered gravy mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Surprisingly good for ground beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I used panko breadcrumbs and used 1/2 cup. Added ground mustard. The oil was too much for my 80/20 beef. I wouldn't use it in the future Unless I had 96/4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha Hughes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I add a whole can of broth and another teaspoon of flour with the 2 tablespoons, salt, pepper & garlic to the pan for the gravy. Just to make more & to give it more flavor! This is a keeper though, no doubt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NClendenon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thomasville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rennagayle
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight, and we all loved it. It was easy, and very tasty. I omitted the sherry from the gravy, simply because I had none on hand. The other modification I made was to increase the gravy recipe by half. Next time, I may even double it. We like plenty of gravy to go with the mashed potatoes. This recipe will definitely go into my rotation of meals cooked on a regular basis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States