Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Absolutely love this recipe. The only changes I make is that I double the gravy. It is the ONLY "real" dinner my 5 year old will eat without any complaints. In fact we had to start doubling the recipe itself after a couple of "THERE'S NO MORE MEAT?!?!" meltdowns. So simple too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Loved this recipe! I didn't have cooking sherry, so I used white cooking wine and I doubled the gravy and served it with mashed potatoes. It was very good. Definitely making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Great recipe! I used Johnsonville Italian Sausage in the place of hamburger which gave this recipe a nice bangers and mash like flavor. I also used chicken broth instead of beef (due to allergy) and rice flour instead of all purpose to make it gluten free. I skipped the sherry all together like some other reviewers and did not miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
yes very good and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Loften

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Super fantastic. My family destroyed every last bite. I served with smashed potatoes and brown sugar & buttered sliced carrots. Got it on the table in an hour. Worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Yum yum yum!! I made a few modifications - no onion salt just b/c I did not have any (but since the patties were fried with fresh onion I felt that was ok), fresh pressed garlic instead of garlic salt, and I added fresh mushrooms to the sauce. SO good!! My husband and I both loved it. Super easy to make and very very tasty, perfect comfort food for a nice fall/winter evening. Served with garlic mashed potatoes. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I followed the recipe to the letter, except that I had beef bouillon cubes and water instead of beef broth and I added water as my sauce turned out a little thick. I served it over mashed potatoes. This turned out amazing!! This was a huge winner for our family. My husband and kids both loved it, as did I. This is a keeper! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
So far, tastes really good. Beef is tender juicy and goes great with gravy. I was expecting the gravy to be a bit thicker... I might try with less broth or more flour next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Easy comfort food. Next time I would use more hamburger, 1.5-2 lbs for a family of four and double the gravy. We didn't have sherry but it was still great. I plan to make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Fabulously delicious recipe! I made it exactly as written, except I didn't have cooking sherry. Still came out great! Great down - home country style meal, just what my husband loves! Went perfect with homemade mashed potatoes too...No need to make gravy on the side! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri Fuhrmann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,532) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States