Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I was pleasantly surprised. With exception of the sherry, I followed the recipe as written. I don't like the flavour of sherry and I found the gravy to be fine without it. I thought that the flavours were good, not to bland as some others have suggested. This recipe can be easily tweaked or adjusted to suit one's taste if necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TamLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This was easy and amazing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Make sure you make the patties on the thinner side. Mine were way to big and thick; they took forever to cook. Great recipe - thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Made this almost exactly as directed but used ground turkey in place of beef. Served with red skinned mashed potatoes and corn, made for a tastier version of the frozen tv dinner. Will definitely make again, also a good substitute for a meatloaf & gravy craving :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I have made this exactly as written before and it is amazing. But usually I use this recipe as a base and change it up a little. I use rice crumbs instead of bread crumbs, olive oil instead of veggie oil, and i add mushrooms. Mmmmm, perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Erwin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Cooked without sherry. Tasted great. My daughter loved it and she is a very picky eater. Will be part of our regular meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck Odum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I made ours out of ground turkey to save on fat, but our "salisturkey" steaks were pretty good. The gravy didn't work because the meat was so lean (why we use turkey in the first place) but these had a great flavor. Adding to my list to make again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britstoke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I loved this recipe! It's not fancy but it tastes so good. I made it almost exactly to the recipe, with two very minor changes. I didn't have any sherry, so I just left it out. Also, my meat was pretty lean so I didn't feel that there was enough fat left in the pan to make the gravy, so I added a tablespoon of butter before adding the flour so that there would be a good roux. If you are using fattier meat you may not need to do this. I wasn't serving potatoes or rice, but if I were, I'd double the gravy amount (pretty easy if you just add some butter). This is the kind of recipe where the leftovers need to be put away right away before I overeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Absolutely love this recipe. The only changes I make is that I double the gravy. It is the ONLY "real" dinner my 5 year old will eat without any complaints. In fact we had to start doubling the recipe itself after a couple of "THERE'S NO MORE MEAT?!?!" meltdowns. So simple too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,531) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States