Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This is really bland and not worth the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Cobb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
My husband liked it. I found it a bit too salty. I probably would withhold the seasoning salt from the gravy because the broth is already salty on its own. Of course it probably depends on the brand you buy. The prep reminds me of Swedish meatballs. The recipe is super easy to make. I think I will try it again without the salt and see how it comes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This is fabulous--not in a sophisticated way, but in a down-home, comfort food way. I followed the recipe, but doubled the gravy so there would be plenty for the mashed potatoes I made to go with it. The family loved it. Next time, I think I will add mushrooms as well. Thank you for submitting such a wonderful recipe for others to enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
It was ok, wasn't bad, had a "meatloaf" taste to it we thought. But we did think the spices were a little bland and will try doubling them next time, personal taste we know. Also might ditch the sherry and double the broth. It's a good starter to put our own take on. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scottjl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I made this with ground chicken and it turned out GREAT! I will be making this a weekly meal. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HattieCUSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midlothian, Virginia, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This recipe was delicious. Made it without the sherry because we didn't have any, and it was still amazing. Had mashed potatoes and asparagus for sides which made for an awesome meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I'm just getting started cooking in my old age and really not very good at it so when I first cook something from a recipe I follow it to the letter if possible. I did that with this and it was great, my bride agreed it was great. I did have to substitute crushed crackers for the bread crumbs (didn't have any) but we loved it just the same. Need to figure out how to make more gravy with it for the rice...Great recipe, thanks for sharing....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by m3mphi5
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Followed the recipe for meat mixture to the letter. Doubled the gravy recipe per reviewer recommendations. once I started to deglaze pan with beef stock I added sliced mushrooms. Great recipe. I've never had Hamburger with onions from scratch, always from a t.v. dinner. This was simple and delicious. Will double the meat ingredients and triple the gravy next time. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by m3mphi5
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Found this recipe yesterday and made it for dinner today. My husband was VERY pleased with it. Our daughter didn't really like the meat, but she's weird about ground beef. She liked the gravy (without onions) over her mashed potatoes. I've been looking for a Salisbury Steak recipe because my husband likes it so much, but they always seem to call for a can of soup, jar of gravy, or some sort of powdered mix. I avoid those things when possible, so I was thrilled to find this recipe. We try to do reduced sodium, so I used less salt in the meat. While cooking I realized I didn't have beef broth, so I used reduced sodium chicken broth. I skipped the season salt in the gravy and added a little beef "Better than Bouillon." Everything was good. I will increase the gravy next time, for the mashed potatoes. ~~Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This was AWESOME!!!! I have been searching for years for a recipe like this, I have tried many. When my husband saw what I was making he looked like I handed down a death sentence! After dinner he asked me to save the leftovers!!!! I did use fresh garlic and onion (threw cloves of garlic and chunks of onion in the mini-chopper before adding to the burger). I also used Worcestershire in place of the cooking sherry (never did like cooking sherry- LOVE the real thing though:) as suggested by others. Thank you so much Anne Marie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Trap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States