Hamburger Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
I always saute my vegatbles before adding to the soup - this makes a HUGE difference in the flavor(try it and you will agree). I fried the beef in a huge saucepan, removed from pan then sauted two onions and garlic (I don't know why this recipie doesn't have onions!) and the other vegetables. Then in the same sauce pan added all ingrediants, in the interest of conserving flavor and reducing dishes. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
This is a very good soup! I did make a few changes, as suggested in some prior reviews. I added 2 onions, 1 more stalk of celery, garlic, Sherry, Liquid Smoke, beef bouillon, homemade vegatable stock, Italian seasoning, and fresh parsley (instead of dried). I sauteed 1 onion and 3 T. chopped garlic with the meat, drained off the fat, saving about 3 T. to saute the vegatables. Sauteed 2 stalks celery, cabbage, carrots and potatoes, another onion and added 3 T. of Liquid Smoke. While that was cooking, I added 1 c. Sherry, 4 T. beef bouillon granules, 1 T. Italian Seasoning, 1/2 c. fresh parsley, corn, barley, mushrooms, tomatoes, 6 c. homemade vegatable stock, water, salt & pepper to the hamburger mix. After vegatables were sauteed, I added everything together in one large pot. After this came to a boil, I let it simmer for 1 1/2 hours, while the bread finished rising and baking. Very flavorful this way and comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
This recipe is good, but a lot like one I already have. I wanted to do something with some barley I have, so I gave it a try. I agree with some other reviewers that the recipe is pretty bland, so I added an onion, some garlic, and a few beef bouillon cubes. I also left out the corn and mushrooms but added some zuchinni because I had some I wanted to use up. With these changes and some fresh rolls it was a very good meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachakno

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Priest River, Idaho, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
I loved this recipe. Along with some homemade bread, my husband and I find this makes a complete meal. I added a large can of tomato sauce and some Italian seasoning and the added flavour was wonderful. This will now be a regular soup in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Was good, next time I will cut the potatoes smaller and add a little extra liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Goleta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I don't know it lacked something...I guess if I experimented a little more I could of be happy...might try again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEE61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
This was okay, but it would have been pretty bland if I hadn't added some beef soup base and 4 beef bouillon cubes. It is a good way to clean out your vegetable drawer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
When making this soup you need to use the "cheaper" hamburger, it will give the soup more flavor even though you do stain out most of the fat. Also please remember that a stalk of celery is the whole thing (not just one rib of the celery). Onion and other veggies can easily be added to this recipe. I don't like onion so don't use it very often. I also add several cubes of beef bullion (2-4, otherwise it can get too salty).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Pemberville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
You have to add beef boullion cubes - I added about 12 to 14 cubes you figure there is 12 cup of water. I also added onion when I browned up the meat. Omitted mushrooms and parsley (I didn't have them) Everyone like it very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
I was disappointed in this soup. With the amount of vegetables it should have been more flavourful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ridgeway, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States