Hamburger Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I thought this tasted good. I have a homemade hamburger soup I prefer to make. This was fine for ease, to avoid chopping a bunch of vegetables, but it is a little salty. I used lean beef, mixed up beef broth using beef base, and subbed one of the cans with tomato juice I had to use up. My mixed vegetables had corn and green beans, which was fine. I did one canned stewed tomatoes and one petite diced low sodium. Before adding any pasta, it looked really watery. So, I decided to just add the pasta, dry, to the soup. That made it less watery and acidic. It was between a thick soup and goulash, then, which I prefer. I got no less than 6 servings at 292 calories made as written here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by blondyblue7
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I love making this for my family.. always make a double batch...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blondyblue7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This recipe was fantastic. Changed peas & carrots to peas & corn. The only other thing I would do differently would be to add macaroni to each serving rather than add macaroni to the entire pot of soup as the macaroni absorbed a lot of the broth and became mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
They were right this is a stick to your rib kinda soup. Great soup to have when come in from shoveling snow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSSPARKLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Took a lot of doctoring! Jacob & Tim liked, though. Used crushed tomatoes - still too tomatoey for Ryan. Added thyme, tons of worcestershire, garlic salt, onion powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I add chopped onion and garlic (and zucchini if I have it,) omit the pasta, and serve it with cooked brown rice and shredded sharp cheddar on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
As most reviewers did, I made a few adjustments to this recipe to suit what I had on hand. I was short on pasta and added a small amount of ditalini and compensated for the shortage by adding a can of beans. Since many had said it needed more flavor, I added some Mrs. Dash seasoning and some Montreal Steak Seasoning. I also threw in the remains of a bag of frozen green beans. Overall it was a very satisfying soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This turned out pretty good! It just needs more flavor. I didn't have stewed tomatoes so used one can of diced tomatoes and one can of tomato soup. Used a crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
A little too tomatoey for my liking ... but that's just my taste ... otherwise it was delicious. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States