Hamburger Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Very good recipe. I added a third of a cup of barley and it sucked up so much liquid I ended up having to add more water and tomato sauce (two small cans of sauce and four cans of water). I think it was a happy accident, though. I also added four cloves of fresh garlic and doubled the basil. I also used beef broth rather than plain water. Everyone in my family wants me to make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaeMama71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winslow, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Very easy and delicious soup, some changes I made: Added bay leaves, green beans celery salt. Next time: low sodium everything, this soup recipe as written is a bit salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
MMMMMMMMM!!!!!!! Like so many others, I changed it in order to use what I had on hand. I started by browning a lb. of ground beef, drained that, then added 2 cubed potatoes (peeled russetts), one onion (yellow) and a couple of carrots that I peeled and thinly sliced. Threw those veggies in there and cooked them till they were beginning to become soft. Then I added the kernels from 4 cobs of corn (fresh). I added water until it about covered all the veggies and meat and then added about 3 TB ketchup and 2 tsp basil along with half a small container (6 oz.?) tomato paste, 1 TB kosher salt, 1 and 1/2 tsp. celery seed and probably like 8 beef bouillon cubes. As this was coming to a boil, I added about 4 cloves of garlic thinly sliced and probably like 12 fresh roma tomatoes diced (not peeled or seeded). I let it cook till the flavors married and now I am going to go eat my second bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Criscelda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
My kids and husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Great soup - I like to add egg noodles during the end of the cookng time, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I just added some fresh chilies for a little spicy taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I make this all the time... it's a big hit at our house. I add lemon pepper also just because I like it. You can't go wrong with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
With the rising cost of beef this is just what I was looking for... A cheaper way to make vegetable beef soup. The only change I made was to use mixed veggie instead of just corn and I didn't add the ketchup. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I liked the basics of this cleaned out the fridge added kidney beans 1/2 cup of spicey ketchup, part of a jar of leftover speghetti sauce several cloves of garlic, pepper basil and two cans 14 oz of Italian spiced tomatoes, doubled the onion and add the corn in half, also from reviews tossed 1 cup of pasta 1/2 he before serving and left the liquids the same approximately., was very hearty for a -38 day thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami Turcotte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I add Tabasco and orzo to make this soup a complete meal. I add extra broth as well because the orzo absorbs some liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States