Hamburger Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Wow I will definitely tone down the sugar next time. Other than being overly sweet it was pretty good and super simple to make. I did use non condensed tomato basil soup instead, since my store was out of condensed tomato soup. It did not turn out runny at all. The sauce thickened up really nice after 30 minutes on med low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I add chopped onion and a small can of whole kernal corn and pour into a baking dish. Top with mashed potatoes or cornbread batter. (I use a corn bread mix and then bake it according to the instructions on the box) or bake at 400 for 20 minutes for the mashed potato topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I substituted the condensed tomato soup for a can of Manwich sauce. I also browned the meat in a pack of onion soup mix and a table spoon and a half of Beef Bouillon mix. I also added a can of diced tomatoes with Oregano, Basil and Garlic and a can of Tomato Paste. Oh-! Instead of White sugar, I used a table spoon of Brown Sugar. I thought it came out decent enough over Wide Egg Noodles. Add a bit of Parmesan cheese and some salt afterwards, it came out like a make shift meat and noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Added minced onion and garlic to the hamburger mixture. Reduced sugar to 1/8 cup; still very sweet. Served mine over potato and two over noodles. After 3 servings still had 5+ to go, serving size way off. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I made this last night for dinner and I used an 8oz can of tomato sauce which turned out to be a perfect thinner for the soup since you don't add any other liquid. I think paste would've been too thick. The only thing I added was garlic powder cause we love garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This was really good. I did not think you would use 6 oz of Tomato paste to 1 can of Soup. I used an 8 oz can of Sauce and can of soup. Since you add no water, the consistency was perfect for serving over mashed potatoes. Simple to make and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
We used to make this at Girl Scout Camp with mixed vegetables instead of green beans. We also used tomato paste not sauce. We called it hamburger stew and it was well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Perhaps the individual meant tomato paste vs. tomato sauce. Doesn't tomato paste come in that size can? It kind of makes sense, in a way, considering the recipe also calls for a can of tomato soup. Seems like tomato sauce and tomato soup would be a lot of liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mnburch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I just wanted to comment on ingredients. I have never seen a 6 1/2 oz can of tomato sauce. They are 8 oz cans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States