Hamburger Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Absolutely love! Our go to soup recipe, even my picky eaters love!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by madkj84
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This recipe is a great base for creating your own delicious version. I read many of the reviews, then chose to add beef bouillon granules, which calls for 1 tsp per cup of water. This ended up being a great decision. The broth became rich as it cooked and absorbed the starch from the potatoes and rice. I did double the rice because 1/4 cup seemed like nothing. And I knew from experience with cooking carrots, that if you're using fresh, it takes longer for them to cook in soups, so as I was browning the meat, I cooked the chopped carrots in the microwave with a bit of water for a few minutes, just to get them a little less hard, giving them a head start. They were still somewhat firm when we ate the soup. Also, browned the meat with the onion and added a healthy sprinkling of garlic powder. My 3 guys inhaled this and asked that I make it again. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I added spices to make it suit our taste but overall pretty good & I will make again. I used 1 can whole tomatoes, 3 T tomato paste, garlic, onion, 3/4 can corn, chili powder, red pepper flakes, 2 beef bouillion cubes, oregano, parsley & a little salt. I cooked the rice separately and put in a bowl adding the soup on top like someone else suggested. I actually remember seeing Rachel Ray do that to a soup she made once. Even my picky boys liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHINEGIRL
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This recipe base helped me get exactly the soup my hubby and I love. It tasted like a famous veggie beef soup served at a popular restaurant where we live. I used 2 cups water and 4 cups beef broth. To the broth I added 1 tsp chili powder, 1 tbs balsamic vinegar, 1 tsp sugar, 1 tbs worchestershire sauce, 2 tbs onion soup mix, fresh garlic and fresh dill, basil and oregano. I also threw in a can of sweet corn niblets. Shortly before serving I added a bit of already cooked rice I had from leftovers. A great dinner and now we have lunches for the week too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHINEGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This soup was awesome. I don't cook with black pepper so I substituted cayanne for it. I also threw in some sage and italian spices and took other readers suggestions to use beef bouillon cubes as an additional flavor. It was great! Thank you...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Buffalo, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I've made this many times. It is a good, simple staple recipe. I added some finely diced celery and a few tablespoons of canned jalepenos just because I had some that I needed to use up. The kick turned out nice. We always top with cheese and call it Cheeseburger soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Hearty recipe... My picky kids 10 and 9 ate it and raved!! I left the rice off to the side as my boyfriend doesn't care for it . It freezes well! I turned the leftovers into a pasta dish just pouring it as a sauce! DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Weller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Middle River, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Yummy im making this right now,its almost done.Thank you.I added a little Oregano.The tomatoes i added was canned Mexican style.i also added a little bit of flour to thicken up some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Clauson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Cut the recipe in half since I am the only family member who likes soup. I did add 2 bouillon cubes, a half tsp of garlic powder, and a bay leaf - just for my own flavor preference. Wonderful soup on a cold, rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
it was way too salty. i added extra rice, and the salt was still a bit overpowering. i think it would be better with beef broth and less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States