Hamburger, Potato, and Kidney Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
This was really good, and so easy! I keep cooked ground in the freezer already, so all I did was thaw that, do it w/ the onions, then piece it together. All my kids loved it--the bowls were cleaned, and that spells success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I just made this and it was FANTASTIC! But with my own twist. I made a few changes- I only used 1 lb ground turkey, 1 can of light red kidney beans, 1 can pinto beans, 1 can tomato paste, and 3/4 a can of enchilada sauce. Poured everything over the potatoes at the bottom and topped with bacon and cheese! This was so so good, the whole house loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Yummy and even better the second and third day! Like other reviewers, I like a little spice. I added chili powder, garlic powder and cayene pepper to the hamburg and onion mixture and then used two cans of tomato soup. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I made this yesterday with a few changes. 1st used only 1 lb. of ground beef plus 1/2 lb. hot Italian sausage. 2nd. 1 large red onion sliced 1/8-in. thick then quartered 3rd. 2cloves minced garlic. 4th. 2 (15-oz.) cans Bush's Chili Beans (We do not like kidney beans). 5th. 1 pkg. frozen Potatoes O'Brien. Browned the meats in a skillet useing extra virgin olive oil. Removed the meats then sauted the onion and garlic in the leftover oil until tender. Then layered as directed in a 4 quart slow cooker, covered and cooked on high setting for 4 hours. Came out great and was quite moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ute Park, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Swansboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This is a very good recipe. I did not have tomato soup so I used a can of tomato sauce and a can of rotel (diced tomatoes with green chilis) I am also lazy so I did not peel the potatoes. I think next time I will cook the bacon before putting it in the oven because it was just a little greasy. Over all a good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
This recipe was very easy and delicious. I did add galic, cumin and chilli powder as some other reviews suggested. But also added diced tomato to it . Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewiston, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
delicious!! Although I would probably do like someone stated and that is add more tomato soup so it's not so dry. I also added cheddar cheese and fried onions instead of the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Lenoir, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This was one of my mother's recipes also, she loved to take it to Potlucks and always received rave reviews. I add shredded sharp cheddar cheese during the last 15 minutes of baking. If you want it spicer, add chili powder to the ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shooter Dogs Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Great recipe! This is such comfort food and it is so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
From the "author": allrecipes takes "liberties" with the recipes, which is fine but if you want it to be the way I make it... I do not cook the ground beef and onion before adding to the recipe, and the potatoes are peeled and sliced approx 3/16" thick, not diced. It goes: Mix finely chopped onion into ground beef. Put a layer of half of the sliced potatoes, then half of the ground beef/onion mixture pulled into marble sized bits and scattered over the potatoes, then half of the kidney beans with juice, then salt and pepper, repeat layers. Top with condensed tomato soup then bacon slices. Then bake as directed. Hope this helps...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States