Hamburger, Potato, and Kidney Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Great recipe! This is such comfort food and it is so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This was one of my mother's recipes also, she loved to take it to Potlucks and always received rave reviews. I add shredded sharp cheddar cheese during the last 15 minutes of baking. If you want it spicer, add chili powder to the ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shooter Dogs Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I thought this was dull, and so did my husband. Even after I added a jalapeno to the ground turkey (I substituted) and spiced it up, it still didn't do it for me. Perhaps I would give it another star if the potatoes had some zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I changed this recipe up quite a bit as it looked a little bland. I used stew beef instead of hamburger, added minced garlic and used tomato sauce instead of canned condensed tomato soup. To make the sauce a little richer I added about 1/2 cup of red wine. I also added sliced fresh mushrooms and baby sweet peas. My hubby is Portuguese and asked where I got the recipe from because it was exactly the same as a portuguese stew he used to eat growing up called Cacoila. Needless to say it made a big hit and will make again with my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margi C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orillia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Yummy and even better the second and third day! Like other reviewers, I like a little spice. I added chili powder, garlic powder and cayene pepper to the hamburg and onion mixture and then used two cans of tomato soup. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This was very good. I added two cans of tomato soup instead of one because it would have been way too dry otherwise. I also added about an extra 3 slices of bacon and I didn't add it until after it had been cooking for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
My mother and grandmother had a recipe simular to this one, it was called shipwreck the only difference i see is that ours had rice in it also. layering was the key. potatoes,rice,beans,onions,hamb.,soup end off with potatoes on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shiocton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I only rate this recipe a 4 because i think it could be made easier. I boiled the potatoes after peeling and dicing. while they were boiling I cut the bacon in small pieces and sauteed with 1/2 lb hamburger and onion. I added 3 cloves garlic. For the casserole I put the potatoes on the bottom and dumped (after straining the grease) the hamburger mixture on top of that. I added 2 cans tomato soup on top and mixed w/ a can of corn. I grated a little cheese on top put it in the oven for 25 minutes at 350. i just realized I didn't even use the kidney beans and it is still fantastic. It was fabulous and will probably taste even better tomorrow. i think next time i will add diced tomatoes to the hamburger mixture. this recipe is great start and I thank you for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by special lady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I made this for my family last night and nobody liked it. I ended up throwing half of it away. It sounded good, but was very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I made several adjustments to the basic recipe. I used only 1 pd of hamburger. I also used 2 cans of condensed tomato soup. I used one huge can of kidney beans and one regular sized can. I melted cheese on top of the casserole toward the last 10 min of the recipe and then used the broiler for 5 min to crisp and brown the cheese. We love garlic, so I put a whole lot of that in there. I threw in a bit of chili powder and ground cayenne pepper as well. Turned out delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jonestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States