Hamburger, Potato, and Kidney Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I made this yesterday with a few changes. 1st used only 1 lb. of ground beef plus 1/2 lb. hot Italian sausage. 2nd. 1 large red onion sliced 1/8-in. thick then quartered 3rd. 2cloves minced garlic. 4th. 2 (15-oz.) cans Bush's Chili Beans (We do not like kidney beans). 5th. 1 pkg. frozen Potatoes O'Brien. Browned the meats in a skillet useing extra virgin olive oil. Removed the meats then sauted the onion and garlic in the leftover oil until tender. Then layered as directed in a 4 quart slow cooker, covered and cooked on high setting for 4 hours. Came out great and was quite moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ute Park, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Swansboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This is a great easy casserole. I subsituted the tomato soup for sloppy joe sauce. Wow! It delivered a punch of flavor and was delicious. During the last 5 minutes of cooking I added a layer of crushed tortilla chips for a topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Very bland, but I didn't use the bacon, I didn't want the extra fat, so I guess that is why my final product ended up somewhat dry. I think next time if I make without the bacon I will use a can of tomatoes in the liquid instead of the tomato soup. I also added garlic powder and garlic salt to give it more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This was OK. My husband seemed to like it more than our daughter. It seemed to me that the potatoes overwhelmed the dish and caused it to seem bland. Maybe I used to many potatoes. Maybe if it was made with pasta instead of potatoes. For me there was something just a little off and I am not sure what it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evangeline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peterstown, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Great recipe! This is such comfort food and it is so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This was one of my mother's recipes also, she loved to take it to Potlucks and always received rave reviews. I add shredded sharp cheddar cheese during the last 15 minutes of baking. If you want it spicer, add chili powder to the ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shooter Dogs Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I thought this was dull, and so did my husband. Even after I added a jalapeno to the ground turkey (I substituted) and spiced it up, it still didn't do it for me. Perhaps I would give it another star if the potatoes had some zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I changed this recipe up quite a bit as it looked a little bland. I used stew beef instead of hamburger, added minced garlic and used tomato sauce instead of canned condensed tomato soup. To make the sauce a little richer I added about 1/2 cup of red wine. I also added sliced fresh mushrooms and baby sweet peas. My hubby is Portuguese and asked where I got the recipe from because it was exactly the same as a portuguese stew he used to eat growing up called Cacoila. Needless to say it made a big hit and will make again with my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Cordeiro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orillia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Yummy and even better the second and third day! Like other reviewers, I like a little spice. I added chili powder, garlic powder and cayene pepper to the hamburg and onion mixture and then used two cans of tomato soup. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This was very good. I added two cans of tomato soup instead of one because it would have been way too dry otherwise. I also added about an extra 3 slices of bacon and I didn't add it until after it had been cooking for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States