Hamburger, Potato, and Kidney Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I wasn't sure whether I would like kidney beans with potatoes, but this was surprisingly really good. I precooked the bacon before I cooked the beef a little so there wouldn't be a big mess of bacon grease floating on the top. I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Vogl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I didn't cook the hamburger, just put everything into a crockpot and cooked it for 2 hours on high and 4 hours on low. Came out moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napavine, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Just made it tonight good for a cold winter's night...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dirtybutch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St.Thomas, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
My family and I really liked this recipe. I added carrots and melted some cheddar cheese on the top the last 5 minutes of baking. Another addition that might be good would be polish sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I'm not a big fan of ground beef so this recipe wasn't for me. My husband on the other hand loved this. I believe the word he used was "fantastic". The only changes I made were: I used 2 cans of tomato soup and drained the kidney beans. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizUgalde

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I made a number of modifications, but this gave me the basis for a GREAT recipe! This is like a baked potato smothered in chili topped with cheese and sour cream - YUM. I diced the potatoes (did NOT peel), sprinkled with Wahoo Chili seasoning and salt/pepper, layered with ground beef/onion, then whole can kidney beans, 1/2 LARGE can tomato soup, then repeated the layers. Cooked covered for 1.5 hours, then generously sprinkled shredded cheese on top and cooked for another 15 minutes uncovered. Served individual servings with cheese, sour cream and spring onions on top. Skipped the bacon altogether, but that would be great too. A new family favorite for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMY BIRKNER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I just made this and it was FANTASTIC! But with my own twist. I made a few changes- I only used 1 lb ground turkey, 1 can of light red kidney beans, 1 can pinto beans, 1 can tomato paste, and 3/4 a can of enchilada sauce. Poured everything over the potatoes at the bottom and topped with bacon and cheese! This was so so good, the whole house loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
From the "author": allrecipes takes "liberties" with the recipes, which is fine but if you want it to be the way I make it... I do not cook the ground beef and onion before adding to the recipe, and the potatoes are peeled and sliced approx 3/16" thick, not diced. It goes: Mix finely chopped onion into ground beef. Put a layer of half of the sliced potatoes, then half of the ground beef/onion mixture pulled into marble sized bits and scattered over the potatoes, then half of the kidney beans with juice, then salt and pepper, repeat layers. Top with condensed tomato soup then bacon slices. Then bake as directed. Hope this helps...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I made this yesterday with a few changes. 1st used only 1 lb. of ground beef plus 1/2 lb. hot Italian sausage. 2nd. 1 large red onion sliced 1/8-in. thick then quartered 3rd. 2cloves minced garlic. 4th. 2 (15-oz.) cans Bush's Chili Beans (We do not like kidney beans). 5th. 1 pkg. frozen Potatoes O'Brien. Browned the meats in a skillet useing extra virgin olive oil. Removed the meats then sauted the onion and garlic in the leftover oil until tender. Then layered as directed in a 4 quart slow cooker, covered and cooked on high setting for 4 hours. Came out great and was quite moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ute Park, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Swansboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This is a great easy casserole. I subsituted the tomato soup for sloppy joe sauce. Wow! It delivered a punch of flavor and was delicious. During the last 5 minutes of cooking I added a layer of crushed tortilla chips for a topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States