Hamburger Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This dish didn't come out well. The flavors were there...sorta...the potatoes were cooked, but there was a lot of liquid on the bottom and it wasn't milky, looked greasy, and the cheese became gummy as it cooled. I wasn't impressed at all. It certainly wouldn't win any awards of any kind. I honestly think this recipe would do better with a cheese sauce somehow instead of a condensed cream soup with some mushroom bits & pieces, maybe some broccoli pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginapocan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I had to double the recipe for our family & use a 9x13 dish . I did add some extra potatoes just to make go a little farther but everyone loved it. I hardly had enough to send in my husbands lunch the next day. This is totally a keeper. Thanks for sharing :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
everybody liked it so it's been put in the "make again pile" :) the only thing I did different was a little garlic powder and I didn't have cream of mushroom on hand so I used cream of celery. Plus I added fresh chopped celery bc I had some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arileyj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I have been making this for many years. Great winter dish with a veggie on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canon City, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I wasn't sure if I would like this with the soup and milk mixture but it was soooo good. My husband is a meat and potatos kinda guy and he was very please so were my girls and that's always nice. Thank u!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pauline, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Mayo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Tried this recipe last week and absolutely loved it. My husband also loved it. One of the best hamburger recipes I've tried in a long time. It is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Ormond Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
This was delicious! I added a couple sliced mushrooms and cooked the onions with the meat. I also added a clove of minced garlic, and a little seasoning salt. I cut the cheese down just because I didn't have a whole cup. Yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
In my opinion I think it needed some veggies, and more seasonings added. This time I tried it with more veggies, and more seasonings, and it came out delish. I would say make it to taste. Add whatever you want to add to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Awesome easy recipe! I ended up with a ton of potatos and was looking for new stuff. I did use a tiny bit more than the 3cups of potatos so I used 2cans o f cream of mushroom soup, more onion I added a beef bullion cube some oregano rosemary and i forget the other. As well as garlic and some garlic and onion powder after reading the reviews. Only because I'm a flavor freak. I added the extra cheese from my small packet of shredded cheese in one of the layers. I'm quite happy glad I read the reviews I'm sure I'd like it even without the extra but they dif made a difference and will be making this again. Leftovers for tomorrows lunch too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I've made this for years with some slight differences. I usually use cream cheddar cheese soup instead of mushroom. Some times I will use cream celery or cream chicken soup. I cut the potato slices very thin. Depending on how much I make, I might add two cans of soup instead of one. I start out baking on 400 degrees for at least twenty to twenty five minutes. I do cover the dish with aluminum foil or a lid depending on what baking dish I use but it's best to cover it. After twenty or twenty five minutes, I take it out, mix it up, return it to oven on 375 for about fifteen to twenty minutes. I then remove the foil or lid, and add grated cheddar cheese to the top, place it back in uncovered til the top cheese begins to brown. Overall, it takes only 40 to 45 minutes to bake for me, every time. I do add milk, onion, seasoning. It's an easy meal to make and easy to change up some ingredients for variety from time to time. Some people add chicken instead of beef and I have even used sausage. By the way, I don't layer it, I simply mix it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 471) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States