Hamburger Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I added garlic powder, salt and pepper to the meat while cooking and seasoning salt to the soup mix, and even topped with french fried onions and cheese, but still thought it was kind of bland. It was edible, but not my favorite dish. I also added cream corn as a layer as suggested by another person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I made this for our family of 6 [3 generations in the household] the other night & it was a HUGE hit. First off, I have to say that the longest part of the prep was peeling & cutting the potatoes as well as browning the meat. Other then that, this meal was so easy to prepare. :) So I did make some changes, and then I realized that to make it a little better for us that like mushy potatoes I would need to tweak the recipe a hair the next go around. My alterations were as follows: 1. Min. of 3 lbs of ground beef is needed [I doubled the recipe cuz there are so many of us], next time I will use upwards of 5-6 lbs. 2. I will be pre-peeling, pre-slicing & pre-cooking the potatoes next go around [some pieces were a bit hard & most of my family likes ours mushy]. 3. I used 3/4 cups of milk & used at least 1-1 1/2 cups of water to cut the cream of mushroom soup. 4. Because the cream of mushroom soup is salty added salt is not necessary. 5. I had mine in the oven for a min. of 1 3/4 hrs. Because the potatoes were quite hard after 1 hour of cooking. Also cream of mushroom soup is crazy heavy on sodium, I'd suggest using low sodium soup instead AND I doubled the amt of soup. I used 2 cans instead of 1. - My son & I killed the left overs of this the following day & I am planning on making it again in a few weeks & will probably triple the recipe so that everyone can eat left overs the next day. Also I found that more is better w/the cheese. This was a GREAT recipe. Will keep it 4ever. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Very Good. My picky eaters even went back for 2nds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This dish didn't come out well. The flavors were there...sorta...the potatoes were cooked, but there was a lot of liquid on the bottom and it wasn't milky, looked greasy, and the cheese became gummy as it cooled. I wasn't impressed at all. It certainly wouldn't win any awards of any kind. I honestly think this recipe would do better with a cheese sauce somehow instead of a condensed cream soup with some mushroom bits & pieces, maybe some broccoli pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginapocan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I had to double the recipe for our family & use a 9x13 dish . I did add some extra potatoes just to make go a little farther but everyone loved it. I hardly had enough to send in my husbands lunch the next day. This is totally a keeper. Thanks for sharing :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
everybody liked it so it's been put in the "make again pile" :) the only thing I did different was a little garlic powder and I didn't have cream of mushroom on hand so I used cream of celery. Plus I added fresh chopped celery bc I had some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arileyj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I have been making this for many years. Great winter dish with a veggie on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canon City, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I wasn't sure if I would like this with the soup and milk mixture but it was soooo good. My husband is a meat and potatos kinda guy and he was very please so were my girls and that's always nice. Thank u!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pauline, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Mayo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Tried this recipe last week and absolutely loved it. My husband also loved it. One of the best hamburger recipes I've tried in a long time. It is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Ormond Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
This was delicious! I added a couple sliced mushrooms and cooked the onions with the meat. I also added a clove of minced garlic, and a little seasoning salt. I cut the cheese down just because I didn't have a whole cup. Yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 454) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States