Hamburger Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
This was delish!! My two teenagers devoured it. I used 1 lb of hamburger and 1/2 lb of sausage. I also used a can of cream of chicken and mushroom soup instead of the cream of mushroom. 6 medium sized potatoes, cut thin seemed to be just the right amount. I topped it with sour cream but my kids put ketchup on top. To each his own I guess. I'm sure this will be great in the morning with a fried egg on top. yah boy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scarlett
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I used the recipe as a template. I know that we like our food a little more flavorful and jam packed with veggies. With this in mind I added paprika, fresh ground Himalayan sea salt, fresh ground peppercorns, and freshly chopped garlic to 18 ounces raw 96% lean ground beef, 3 ounces of fresh chopped portabella mushrooms and 3 stalks of green onion. As this mixture was about 3 minutes from being Cooked I added in 2 cups of frozen mixed vegetables. While meat mixture was cooking I cut up 1 3/4 pounds of Yukon gold potatoes. I sprayed casserole dish with a 3 second spray of Pam on bottom of dish. Placed a layer of potatoes on base on casserole dish and added some ground peppercorns to potatoes. Now that meat and veggies were done I added the can of mushroom soup and 1/3 cup of skim milk to the meat pot and created all one mixture. I layered meat/ sauce mixture over the potatoes and repeated the process on the next layer. For a total of 3 layers of potatoes. There was very little meat/sauce mixture for a 3rd layer of meat which was ok because I had made sure to reserve a ladle size amount to spread lightly overtop. I covered the top with 1 1/2 cups low fat Mexican cheese blend. I covered entire dish with aluminum foil and baked in 350 oven for 70 minutes. After 70 minutes I removed foil and cooked for an additional 4 minutes. I let dish sit for 15 minutes and then added a stalk of cut green onion to top for color. I hope my suggestions help others. Just a reminder everyo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Just a real nice casserole. Needed 2 hrs in oven, prob because I used a casserole dish and it was not as spread out. But so worth the wait. Hubby put ketchup on, I liked it w/out. Awesome leftovers, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Oak Grove, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Oldgoat
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I made this for dinner, used exactly what it called for, only thing I did was covered it for an hour and then 15 minutes uncover, then added the cheese for the last 15 minutes for a total of 1 hour and 1/2. Will definitely make for my coworkers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimberly L. Caparrella
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I just made this for my husband and I. I doubled the Mushroom soup and added green beans. I also did onion flakes instead of regular onion. Very good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Really good. Not too creamy perfect quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Searcy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Awesome!!! Family loved thanks! Going to try the lazana tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I used this as a base idea and went from there. Instead of using sliced potatoes I used frozen shredded hashbrowns. I used an entire onion and cooked it along with several cloves of garlic with the meat. I also added sour cream, Worcestershire sauce, soy sauce, garlic powder and parsley to the liquids. I mixed everything together and poured into a casserole to bake. Turned out pretty good especially considering how simple it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I give this 5 stars but I made a lot of changes. haha. First, I sauteed a large pkg of mushrooms and several leeks in olive oil. Then I added a tsp of garlic powder to the ground beef. Then I also used about a half cup of feta and a quarter cup of shredded parmesan. Also used my homemade cream of mushroom soup. Mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by housgrll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
This is a good basic recipe but you need to add the things your family likes. I added Worcestershire sauce to the Mushroom soup, 3 finely chopped cloves of Garlic,and I sauteed sliced mushrooms along with onion before adding on top of the meat. It was a bit dry,so next time I'll add more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn Burbank

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 465) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States