Hamburger Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Briee
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
This recipe was okay. I added garlic powder, onion seasoning, seasoning salt, corn, and used beef broth instead of water. Yet, I still found it a bit plain. Also, the potatoes took FOREVER to cook. Way longer than half an hour. I would suggest browning them in a separate pan first. Overall, not bad. I don't think I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I have not tried this recipe yet but it is a lot like one my wife cooks, but I have to doctor hers after she is finished (shhhh........)because she likes her food bland and I like seasonings and some spice. So I expect that this is a little bland for my taste but it can be fixed and bdesides it is hard to totally screw up hamburger hash. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Good recipe but not enough seasoning. I added a bit extra bouillon as well as garlic powder and pepper. A good winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I added tomato soup and seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
No offense to the recipe poster..but not sure what she was going for. I thought hey easy way to make hash. Um no. Followed the directions precisely. Came out like a hamburger and potato stew type of deal. I thought I could "make" it into hash by cooking it longer and higher temp and without the lid on. Nope. Made it a bit thicker but end result was the same. I decided to leave well enough alone and go with a hamburger potato stew for dinner that night. However, I must say the flavor was good. That might be because I added a tablespoon of garlic, added salt and pepper as well. Giving it 2 stars because it was not hash but stew. I dont think water should have been added at all. If any very little. Maybe instead of water a little bit of a stock or broth. I will stick to making hamburger hash the traditional way. Sorry but I wont make it again and not something I recommend. It wasn't the disaster that some people had but I made it work and it was a success. I'm an advanced cook been at it for years. So, I can make things better if the recipes dont turn out like they are supposed to. Like I said no offense to Rhonda_M. It just didnt turn out how it should have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Recipe as written is good and quick but by adding a few things it definitely takes it to 5 stars for me. I add carrots, celery if I have it, worcestershire sauce, garlic, and after about half way done I put in BUNCH of frozen corn, it really adds flavor. Add cornstarch or flour if needs a little thickening. Some toppers I use sometime are chedder cheese, sour cream, and/or french fried onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Hash= meat + potato + onions + salt and pepper + water/broth. Once the water has cooked down keep on cooking to put a crust on meat/potato/onion mixture. It brings out the flavor of the meat and puts a crisp on the potato. Yum. I've used beef, pork, ham, corned beef and even chicken. I've never had a hash with gravy...that seems like more of a stroganoff or stew dish. Thanks for posting a good, basic, yummy hash recipe RHONDA_M!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
This recipe was ok. But I switched it up a bit. Cooked the meat in beef broth, added some garlic flakes and seasoning salt. I also boiled the potatoes in beef broth and water until tender, then put them in with the hamburger and browned them up. I then sprinkled on a bit more seasoning salt and garlic to taste, and added 3 large eggs until cooked. Then served. And instead of onions I used leeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I spent a long time looking for this recipe. It is a simple recipe, and mother used to make it often. I have become a gourmet cook - trouble is, fancy look-alikes of this recipe do not turn out well in my opinion. When you start adding things to this, you mess with its great, simple comfort food taste. This is an excellent old fashioned recipe that is delicious just as it is, and is unbelievably easy to make. I used liquid beef broth for this (make sure beef is the first ingredient on the label, ok? or it won't work.) I am so thankful to you Rhonda M. for this! It takes me back in time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
My best friend's mom made this for dinner atleast three nights a week when we were growing up. I choose to make this because I wasn't sure what to do with my pound of ground beef and making this reminded me of her mom! I didn't really care for the bouillon, she never used it, always just salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States