Hamburger Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
My Dad was big on hamburger hash from his WWII army days and probably wouldn't approve of the following changes, as he had said it wouldn't be 'hamburger hash' if you changed it. I've liked it for many years but it can be quite bland especially if you don't like adding much salt to recipes. Some things I liked in it is the addition of green pepper, garlic salt, and a jar of salsa (your favorite kind). Helps with the flavor aspect. With some crusty bread on the side, my son started liking it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I added more potatoes, carrots, celery, garlic powder,broccoli, and enough beef broth to make it more of a soup. Everyone loved it, I worked late tonight so looked up this recipe, Will defiantately cook it more often :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Searcy, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I used frozen potatoes and added a Dry Onion Soup Mix packet - like another reviewer did. I only added 2c of water because other reviewers mentioned it being soupy. It thickened up nicely... But it was still a little bland and mushy. It was so easy. And a little salt helped. I'll probably make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blessed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pchbloom
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Excellent way to use leftover browned ground beef & onions. I did add worcestershire sauce as per many other reviewers and then to make the dish more hash-like in appearance I scooped the meat and potatoes out of the liquid (it hadn't all reduced by the time the potatoes were cooked) and browned the hash in a skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Briee
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
This recipe was okay. I added garlic powder, onion seasoning, seasoning salt, corn, and used beef broth instead of water. Yet, I still found it a bit plain. Also, the potatoes took FOREVER to cook. Way longer than half an hour. I would suggest browning them in a separate pan first. Overall, not bad. I don't think I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I have not tried this recipe yet but it is a lot like one my wife cooks, but I have to doctor hers after she is finished (shhhh........)because she likes her food bland and I like seasonings and some spice. So I expect that this is a little bland for my taste but it can be fixed and bdesides it is hard to totally screw up hamburger hash. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Good recipe but not enough seasoning. I added a bit extra bouillon as well as garlic powder and pepper. A good winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liana Lindstrom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I added tomato soup and seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
No offense to the recipe poster..but not sure what she was going for. I thought hey easy way to make hash. Um no. Followed the directions precisely. Came out like a hamburger and potato stew type of deal. I thought I could "make" it into hash by cooking it longer and higher temp and without the lid on. Nope. Made it a bit thicker but end result was the same. I decided to leave well enough alone and go with a hamburger potato stew for dinner that night. However, I must say the flavor was good. That might be because I added a tablespoon of garlic, added salt and pepper as well. Giving it 2 stars because it was not hash but stew. I dont think water should have been added at all. If any very little. Maybe instead of water a little bit of a stock or broth. I will stick to making hamburger hash the traditional way. Sorry but I wont make it again and not something I recommend. It wasn't the disaster that some people had but I made it work and it was a success. I'm an advanced cook been at it for years. So, I can make things better if the recipes dont turn out like they are supposed to. Like I said no offense to Rhonda_M. It just didnt turn out how it should have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Recipe as written is good and quick but by adding a few things it definitely takes it to 5 stars for me. I add carrots, celery if I have it, worcestershire sauce, garlic, and after about half way done I put in BUNCH of frozen corn, it really adds flavor. Add cornstarch or flour if needs a little thickening. Some toppers I use sometime are chedder cheese, sour cream, and/or french fried onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States