Hamburger Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Just what I was looking for. I did an ingredients search for potatoes and ground beef and found this simple recipe. I used beef broth instead of bouillon. After the potatoes were soft, I stirred about 2 T. flour into 1/4 c. milk and then stirred it into the broth to make a thicker gravy. Like another reviewer said, it's nothing fancy but it was simple, fast, and called for only a few ingredients which I already had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This was a great and quick meal! It wasn't over the top in taste for me, but I liked it. My pickiest of eater, my 2yr old cleaned his bowl! I added the Worcestershire sauce, fresh minced garlic and cheese as recommended. On top of that I chopped up some carrots and celery I had in the fridge and tossed that in for color and flavor. My heart was warmed by watching my whole family enjoy the meal! I made a big pot of the hash and when I returned home from work the next morning, there was only an 8oz bowl of it left in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by m3chn0w

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
this recipe was yery yummy but i had to doctor it up a bit. first i didnt have any beef bouillon so i substituted it with beef broth and about 2 cups of water. i also added garlic powder, chili powder, paprika, and salt and pepper. i waited and waited for almost an hour for the juices to go down but it didnt happen so i just served this meal as a soup with garlic bread it was a hit at my table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Leave out the boullion and make it the way my dad did. After adding spices, potatoes, and onions to the ground beef, over cook it until the potatoes will mash easily. Mash the mix so that some of the potatoes become part of the water mix. When it's totally boiled down to where you like it, then add an entire stick of butter. Stir carefully and serve. This is my favorite. ughh, no worsty sauce either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Recipe was okay...great if you are out of groceries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
this was a huge hit with my kids. I used garlic too and used a can beef broth instead. I also added shredded cheese which the kids loved. Also used some parsley and veg spice. My son told me it's a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Like everyone else said- a great starter. Add some minced garlic, worshtershire sauce, pepper, salt, cumin, seasonall, and it's a great main course. I omited the bullion b/c I like to experiment with spices. I only added enough water to soften the potatoes, and some flour to keep it from being runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
My family really enjoyed this. I also added carrots, a little minced garlic, some parsley for color and thickened with corn starch. Reminded me of an inexpensive quick version of beef stew. Will be adding this into the meal "routine".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
this is pretty close to a recipe that I have been making since my kids were small. I always add garlic and a little chopped green bell pepper if I have it. Just basic dinner but good...my kids always topped with ketchup. I never put water in it though, just browned the ground beef, added onions,potatoes seasoning and pepper, then cooked till potatoes were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This works when you're down to the basics - but you absolutely have to doctor it up, or you'll have flavorless stuff in front of you. I added an extra bouillon cube, carrots, celery, Penzey's dehyd green & red bell peppers, more onion, garlic, parsley, Worcestershire, basil, Cayenne, TONS of Salt and Pepper, and two cans of Cream Of Mushroom. I served it in soup bowls with those new Cole's Cheese Filled Breadstix on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States