Hamburger Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Worth trying when you are short on time and ingredients. I added some adobo. The kids added shredded cheddar at the table. It was good with some canned corn on the side -- dad mixed his in :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Mead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I am glad to see this recipe. My dad used to make it from the Army (WW II). Anyway, our original recipe was only hamburger, potatoes and onions w/salt & pepper. I used to wind up adding a ton of salt. But now I like to add a can of flavored tomatoes (like chili-ready or w/green chillies) as well as the garlic & green pepper. I love worchestershire but not in this. Haven't tried beef bouillon but I'm sure it would add depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Newport, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Sorry I did not like this at all. The potatoes were way too mushy. I even cut the simmer time in half to 15 min. then evaporated most of the juice off for 15 more minutes on med-high. The potatoes just took in too much liquid. The whole dish was mushy with no texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corralitos, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I used this as a base recipe and other ingredients as others suggested such as worchestershire, pepper, corn, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Encino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
My mom used to make hamburger hash on occasion, so this was comfort food for me, and a great option when the pantry has run dry. Simple, tasty, and family friendly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilydonovan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukee, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I make this quiet often and have been making it for years. It's one of my family's favorites! I usually add a bit of oregano, some garlic, and a splash of worcestershire sauce..sometimes I'll throw in fresh/frozen green beans, corn or carrots (or all three). I have even made this with ground venison. Great recipe and a great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I added carrots and used beef broth instead of beef bullion. Oh, and I seasoned the meat with garlic powder and italian seasoning. Great different way to use ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
There is not nearly enough seasonings. I added salt, pepper, & garlic, but this could just be personal taste. Also threw in green beans & corn. I let mine simmer for about 45 minutes. Great way to use up pantry items!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BREN1226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Paired with peas and it was awesome! Didn't use onions though. A little bland so I had to add salt, but it was still good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States