Hamburger Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Recipe as written is good and quick but by adding a few things it definitely takes it to 5 stars for me. I add carrots, celery if I have it, worcestershire sauce, garlic, and after about half way done I put in BUNCH of frozen corn, it really adds flavor. Add cornstarch or flour if needs a little thickening. Some toppers I use sometime are chedder cheese, sour cream, and/or french fried onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Hash= meat + potato + onions + salt and pepper + water/broth. Once the water has cooked down keep on cooking to put a crust on meat/potato/onion mixture. It brings out the flavor of the meat and puts a crisp on the potato. Yum. I've used beef, pork, ham, corned beef and even chicken. I've never had a hash with gravy...that seems like more of a stroganoff or stew dish. Thanks for posting a good, basic, yummy hash recipe RHONDA_M!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
This recipe was ok. But I switched it up a bit. Cooked the meat in beef broth, added some garlic flakes and seasoning salt. I also boiled the potatoes in beef broth and water until tender, then put them in with the hamburger and browned them up. I then sprinkled on a bit more seasoning salt and garlic to taste, and added 3 large eggs until cooked. Then served. And instead of onions I used leeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I spent a long time looking for this recipe. It is a simple recipe, and mother used to make it often. I have become a gourmet cook - trouble is, fancy look-alikes of this recipe do not turn out well in my opinion. When you start adding things to this, you mess with its great, simple comfort food taste. This is an excellent old fashioned recipe that is delicious just as it is, and is unbelievably easy to make. I used liquid beef broth for this (make sure beef is the first ingredient on the label, ok? or it won't work.) I am so thankful to you Rhonda M. for this! It takes me back in time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
My best friend's mom made this for dinner atleast three nights a week when we were growing up. I choose to make this because I wasn't sure what to do with my pound of ground beef and making this reminded me of her mom! I didn't really care for the bouillon, she never used it, always just salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This was quite good, I only added 3 crushed cloves of garlic, fresh ground pepper, and kosher salt, but otherwise left as is. Nice go to meal when u r using up produce or have a little of this and that left in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by braveleesy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Easy, fast and good! I added 1/2 cup of fresh cut carrots, Worcestershire sauce, garlic salt, and 1 can green beans. I cooked as directed and it came out great! We all had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I love this meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Homemade Hamburger Helper! I used leftover potatoes from a roast, chopped into small cubes. I also used beef broth and some steak seasoning instead of the bouillon and water. Threw in carrots and some chopped collard greens for extra veggies and it was really good! My kids were skeptical but once they took a bite, they were happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
My mother has been making this for over 30+ years and we love it it is a versatile recipe you can use gravy or beef broth aue jue or anything you can think of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States