Hamburger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
i've made these cookies before, and i used the wafer, grasshopper(mint) cookies, and for lettuce and mustard i used white frosting, divided in half, tinted with food coloring, put down a wafer, spread with yellow, add mint cookie, spread with green then top with wafer, slightly wet with egg white and sprinkle with sesame seeds.. no cooking, then arrange hamburgers on large tray and top with potato sticks, now you have hamburger and french fries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Clarkeswife
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
instead of baking, use vanilla icing and red and yellow food coloring as ketchup and mustard. eliminates the baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
I have made these for years as my boys went through elementary school. Their classmates loved them. I would suggest you not use canned frosting as a substitute for the mint patties, though. It's just wouldn't be the same. I always cut squares of wax paper and wrapped each cookie as if it had come from a fast food restaurant. It added to the fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
To me the point of this recipe is that it is sooooooo cute. People just want to look at it, but I had some friends tell me they loved the taste and wanted to eat more. :) I made cheese and lettuce out of rolled fondant. I bought some american cheese to match the color using orange & yellow paste colors, rolled out the fondant and cut it with a pizza cutter into squares. The lettuce was obviously green, and I just pinched off little pieces so it had rough edges - very cute! You really don't need much to do a couple dozen cookies. I gave them out at work in a french fry bag that said "a smile for your friday" - because it was Friday - afterwards my husband said it should have said FrYday. From the bottom: Waffer, yellow icing, mint patty, red icing, tiny "lettuce" tiny "cheese", a smidge more red icing if needed, top waffer, honey, sesame seeds. Wrap in wax paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I used yellow fruit roll-ups for the cheese. I sliced green gum drops for the pickles. Grasshopper cookies for the burger. Red frosting for ketchup and a dab of white frosting to hold it all together. Took a while to make them all but it was well worth it. These were a huge hit at a chilren/adult halloween party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msstang523

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
I've been making these for years for my children and now my grandchildren. To make it easier for my little helpers, I use canned frosting coloring one half green, for the lettuce and on half orange, for the cheese. Then I simply sandwich the thin mint between the vanilla wafer, 'lettuce' frosting and 'cheese' frosting. Always ahit with the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jefferson, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kari
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I used colored frosting for the "lettuce", "tomato", and "cheese" and Grasshopper cookies for the "burger". Very cute! Taste was kinda weird but, that was not the purpose. I give this a "5" because of the fun time my daughter and I had putting these together!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I put each little burger back onto the square of foil paper that the mint patty had been wrapped in. Gave it that "fast food" look. Doesn't completely wrap it, more like a cupcake paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
some people just use icing for that lettas and mustard look... Add little canned fries for that cute decoration!!! ♥
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
These are just too cute. Have made them several times now because they're so easy and appealing. Even my office loved them. I usually mae the hamburger cake which is much more labor intensive so this is a nice and easy change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States