Hamburger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I tried both the peppermint patty and grasshopper cookie as the meat. The Keebler grasshopper cookie had a much better taste and was more realistic looking with its uneven edges and thinner patty. I glued the cookies on with a dab of melted chocolate, placed in the center of the meat. I painted spots on the top bun with Lyle's Golden Syrup and dipped in the seeds. Piped yellow and red frosting just around the underside edge of the top bun. Placed green coconut on the meat and applied light pressure when placing the top bun on. This caused the frosting to ooze out just enough to look like ketchup and melted cheese. Easy, fun and taste good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
i've made these cookies before, and i used the wafer, grasshopper(mint) cookies, and for lettuce and mustard i used white frosting, divided in half, tinted with food coloring, put down a wafer, spread with yellow, add mint cookie, spread with green then top with wafer, slightly wet with egg white and sprinkle with sesame seeds.. no cooking, then arrange hamburgers on large tray and top with potato sticks, now you have hamburger and french fries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
These are SO MUCH fun!! The whole family just loved them and couldn't get enough!! Some reviewers say they don't taste all that great, but I disagree- and I'm not even a big peppermint patty fan. My 3-year old son helped make these (he unwrapped all the candy). We made them for us, and my 5-year old daughter as an after school snack. They're all gone now- should have doubled the recipe! My daughter wants me to make them for her class. My husband wants me to make them for his work! What a fun recipe. Oh, I used a dab of honey on the inside of the buns, to help it stick. I found that just using water to make the sesame seeds stick didn't work very well, so I plopped some corn syrup into the water, and used that. It worked very, very well. (I didn't totally stir it together, but dragged my paintbrush through it). I love this recipe, and will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
I have made these for years as my boys went through elementary school. Their classmates loved them. I would suggest you not use canned frosting as a substitute for the mint patties, though. It's just wouldn't be the same. I always cut squares of wax paper and wrapped each cookie as if it had come from a fast food restaurant. It added to the fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
To me the point of this recipe is that it is sooooooo cute. People just want to look at it, but I had some friends tell me they loved the taste and wanted to eat more. :) I made cheese and lettuce out of rolled fondant. I bought some american cheese to match the color using orange & yellow paste colors, rolled out the fondant and cut it with a pizza cutter into squares. The lettuce was obviously green, and I just pinched off little pieces so it had rough edges - very cute! You really don't need much to do a couple dozen cookies. I gave them out at work in a french fry bag that said "a smile for your friday" - because it was Friday - afterwards my husband said it should have said FrYday. From the bottom: Waffer, yellow icing, mint patty, red icing, tiny "lettuce" tiny "cheese", a smidge more red icing if needed, top waffer, honey, sesame seeds. Wrap in wax paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I put each little burger back onto the square of foil paper that the mint patty had been wrapped in. Gave it that "fast food" look. Doesn't completely wrap it, more like a cupcake paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JONESCLAN
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Well, I gotta agree with a few of the other reviews... I don't love the taste, but they were a lot of fun to make and even more fun to look at. Every kids wnated to get a piece of the action in making them. My daughter is taking them to school tomorrow for her birthday party. We used other suggestions and wrapped them in tin foil to get the fast food effect. I bought the frosting in a can- ready to squirt. It really made putting on the "mustard" and "ketsup" a snap. I had some white frsting the I put on the wafers (the bottom "bun") for glue to hold on the patty. I used York peppermint patties for the patty. We used a honey/ water mixture for the glue to hold on the sesame seeds. I highly suggest you brush on honey mix on the top bun BEFORE you put in on the rest of the hamburger. I got excited about seeing the finished product and put the top bun on and we had a hard time getting the honey on it w/ out the cookies spinning in circles. I used 1 box of wafers and 1 bag of patties and it made 41 cookies. Now the rest of my kids can't wait to take them for their birthday parties next year. Really quite easy and fast to put together. We put all 41 together in about 15 minutes, with 3 of us working. Would be fun for a bake sale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JONESCLAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2001
I made these for my daughtes day care, but what could I use for "cheese"?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle A

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kari
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I used colored frosting for the "lettuce", "tomato", and "cheese" and Grasshopper cookies for the "burger". Very cute! Taste was kinda weird but, that was not the purpose. I give this a "5" because of the fun time my daughter and I had putting these together!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
For looks these cookies are fun but I wasn't crazy about the taste of all these ingredients mixed together. I also used red and yellow decorator icing for 'ketchup & mustard'. Didn't bake the cookies. Served with a 'side' of potato stick "french fries". They come out really cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States