Hamburger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
These are SO MUCH fun!! The whole family just loved them and couldn't get enough!! Some reviewers say they don't taste all that great, but I disagree- and I'm not even a big peppermint patty fan. My 3-year old son helped make these (he unwrapped all the candy). We made them for us, and my 5-year old daughter as an after school snack. They're all gone now- should have doubled the recipe! My daughter wants me to make them for her class. My husband wants me to make them for his work! What a fun recipe. Oh, I used a dab of honey on the inside of the buns, to help it stick. I found that just using water to make the sesame seeds stick didn't work very well, so I plopped some corn syrup into the water, and used that. It worked very, very well. (I didn't totally stir it together, but dragged my paintbrush through it). I love this recipe, and will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
I made these for my sons' birthdays on April Fool's Day. They were a big hit. Not one was left at the end of the party. I added potato straws to the platter with a dab of red frosting for french fries and ketchup. Very fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stroupc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
These are just too cute. Have made them several times now because they're so easy and appealing. Even my office loved them. I usually mae the hamburger cake which is much more labor intensive so this is a nice and easy change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
To me the point of this recipe is that it is sooooooo cute. People just want to look at it, but I had some friends tell me they loved the taste and wanted to eat more. :) I made cheese and lettuce out of rolled fondant. I bought some american cheese to match the color using orange & yellow paste colors, rolled out the fondant and cut it with a pizza cutter into squares. The lettuce was obviously green, and I just pinched off little pieces so it had rough edges - very cute! You really don't need much to do a couple dozen cookies. I gave them out at work in a french fry bag that said "a smile for your friday" - because it was Friday - afterwards my husband said it should have said FrYday. From the bottom: Waffer, yellow icing, mint patty, red icing, tiny "lettuce" tiny "cheese", a smidge more red icing if needed, top waffer, honey, sesame seeds. Wrap in wax paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
I've been making these for years for my children and now my grandchildren. To make it easier for my little helpers, I use canned frosting coloring one half green, for the lettuce and on half orange, for the cheese. Then I simply sandwich the thin mint between the vanilla wafer, 'lettuce' frosting and 'cheese' frosting. Always ahit with the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jefferson, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
some people just use icing for that lettas and mustard look... Add little canned fries for that cute decoration!!! ♥
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Clarkeswife
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
instead of baking, use vanilla icing and red and yellow food coloring as ketchup and mustard. eliminates the baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
These are cute, and quick to throw together. One person in my house hates coconut, so instead I used a squiggle of green frosting around the outside edges of the "hamburger" before I added the top "bun". I can't say these are the best tasting cookies I've ever made, but it is a fun idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
For looks these cookies are fun but I wasn't crazy about the taste of all these ingredients mixed together. I also used red and yellow decorator icing for 'ketchup & mustard'. Didn't bake the cookies. Served with a 'side' of potato stick "french fries". They come out really cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
I have made these for years as my boys went through elementary school. Their classmates loved them. I would suggest you not use canned frosting as a substitute for the mint patties, though. It's just wouldn't be the same. I always cut squares of wax paper and wrapped each cookie as if it had come from a fast food restaurant. It added to the fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States