Hamburger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
I have been making these cookies for years with my 2 now grown sons and nieces/nephews for school parties. My 7 yr. old daughter and I just made some tonight for the last day of school tomorrow and she had a blast helping construct them... We use the tubes of decorating icing in (ketchup)red,(mustard)yellow and (lettuce)green this saves time and the hassle of tinting frosting. We use Keebler grasshopper cookies, and a little melted butter brushed on top to attach the sesame seeds, when the butter dries it acts like glue and leaves the top a little shiny, when burgers are all done we wrap them in little squares of wax paper I love the look of the colored coconut but I don't use it cause too many people love it or hate it. We used 2 boxes nilla wafers and 2 pkgs. grasshoppers to make 80 cookies because we plan on sharing them with the school office staff also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Simple soultion to "cheese" .... Fruit Rollups! :) Some Red food gel bought right from the baking asile would look the most like ketchup, and dotting the icing would keep you from having to do the baking step. Since its so perfect of a project to do with kids, skipping the baking is probably best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
The kids made these to go with Easter dinner. All the guests raved over their cuteness. The great taste was a bonus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greenbrier, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brook
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This was a fun dessert for April Fool's Day. I used the 'nila wafers for the bun and put some caro syrup on the top bun to make the sesame seeds stick. For some of the burgers I used a mini york peppermint patty and for some others I used a caramel cookie from Keebler. I used frosting (out of a can) for the ketchup and mustard and dyed it red and yellow. I left out the "lettuce" because many of the girls at work don't like coconut. The taste was AWESOME and I highly recommend them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
These were such a hit with the kids, and sooooo easy to make. A wonderful April Fools treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chaosmommy
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I made these for the kids as an April Fool's joke. They thought it was pretty funny. My store didn't have any of the chocolate mint cookies, so I had to use Hershey's Almond Joy cookies. They were bigger than the 'Nilla Wafers, so it looked like the burger was bigger than the bun. No one noticed. I used yellow frosting on the bottom wafer, put the chocolate cookie on, topped that with red frosting and the green coconut. One child thought the yellow was mustard, another said it was cheese. So it worked either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chaosmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I have been making these cookies for about 2 years I make it for all my partys it is a great hit. I do not bake them I just put a drop of icing on the bottom waffer to make it stick. I also use OJ instead of water for the seeds. These are the best for added fun I make hot dog candy's with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candir76

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This was fun. I gave it 4 stars b/c I did alter the recipe a touch. I used a chocolate covered cookie that had peanut butter in it. We used red and yellow frosting. If you dont want to dye the coconut chop it finely and say it is onions for the burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinteacher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
These are super fun. I skipped the coconut and just did some frosting 'cheese' and 'ketchup'. The first thing my son said when he saw them: "CRABBY PATTIES!!!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakingdom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
These are awesome! I use Girl Scout Thin Mints for the hamburger-so great for a Scout function! Kids love to make them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Dodds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States