Hamburger Cheese Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was good, but not great. I did leave out the bell pepper because I did not have it on hand. It actually tastes like a creamy hamburger helper. My 6 and 4 yo did not like it. My husband and I enjoyed it but it won't make our regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
My daughter recently became a vegetarian. So I substituted the beef for soy crumblers and also added shredded carrots to the garlic/onion mixture and sautéed . Added more sauce as previously stated and mixed everything together topped with parmesan and ..Viola...GREAT vegetarian dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
omg delicious. used a reviewer's suggestion of prepared tomato sauce. I always have a bag of frozen pepper/onion mix on hand so used that with hamburger. it doesn't form a solid mass (like lasagna) so maybe everything could be mixed together instead of layering, but I layered it like recipe called for. and here's the clincher for me: my toddler loved it. thank you for this recipe, it's a welcome change from boring noddles & hamburger combo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Loved this! Took advice of others to add more sauce (using 1/2 jar of pasta sauce). I used Ricotta cheese instead of cream cheese & leeks instead of green onions (what I had in the fridge). Large shell pasta. So delicious! Didn't last long in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Okay, I made a lot of changes to simplify and make it quicker. I used spaghetti noodles, broken in half, for the pasta. I used a 26-ounce can of spaghetti sauce, a small can of mushrooms, no cottage cheese, and I doubled up on the sour cream. I combined the meat sauce with the cheese and sour cream and layered noodles and sauce twice. It was really good! Thanks for sharing, Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
nothing special- expensive to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chasityk5592

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly. I thought it was tasty, I liked the cheese filling, but thought it was a bit too much. Next time I will double meat and sauce mixture -- maybe w/italian sausage. Overall, it was really good - a big hit with the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I followed the recipe as for the most part. I used a 26 ox jar of sauce instead of the two cans and I used 1 1/2 lbs of ground beef. It has a nice taste but could use more of the cheese filling. Next time I will double that part or maybe triple and add an extra layer of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
We really liked this and I would have given 5 stars but I made several modifications one by accident and some on purpose- didn't have green pepper,took other reviewer's advice for more sauce and added 26 oz. tomato sauce, accidentally added a 16 oz. cottage cheese instead of 8oz. I also mixed everything together based on another reviewer's suggestion. I don't think that was a good idea as the noodles that were not covered with sauce were a little dry. Next time I will make the layers. Overall a good, quick meal that I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Stewart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I eliminated the peppers and green onion, but it was still delicious. My picky husband really loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States