Hamburger Cheese Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Don't let the less-than-delicious name fool you, this is really good! The sauce is just "eh", so instead of this one, I use "world's best pasta sauce" from this site, cook the pasta, and mix with the cheeses, then pour the sauce over the top and bake. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4NonBlondes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
This is my husband's favorite! I make this one everytime I go out of town because I know it will keep him from eating fast food everyday! He even loved to share it with his guy friends, they all raved. Thank You. UPDATE: I have made this a dozen times now and I make the following changes to the recipes. First, I use a 26 oz. jar of prepared tomato sauce (sometimes more depending on how thick the sauce ends up), I use the whole 16 oz. cottage cheese (small curd) container because I have never found it in 8 oz., I omit the bell pepper (not our favorite, sometimes I substitute a red bell pepper, but it is good without), and top the whole thing with a couple cups of shredded cheese (mozzarella or Italian mixture). This is very thick, rich and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
I gave it 5 stars, because, with a little adjusting, it will be perfect. Definately needs more sauce, and I think more hamburger, like a pound and a half. Also, I think the green pepper needs to cooked with the hamburger and onion. Other than that, wow! what a great meal! Awesome flavor. And you can do many variations with it, adding your personal favorites....it's virtually impossible to screw this up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
My daughter recently became a vegetarian. So I substituted the beef for soy crumblers and also added shredded carrots to the garlic/onion mixture and sautéed . Added more sauce as previously stated and mixed everything together topped with parmesan and ..Viola...GREAT vegetarian dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
We've made this twice, the first time for a potluck where it was very well liked, and I received several compliments(actually it was gone before I even got through the line, so I didn't even get to taste it that time.) We made it again tonight for a family dinner. As I suspected the first time--there isn't enough sauce. If the tomato sauce was doubled, I believe this recipe would be a 5-star. The cheese mixture has wonderful flavor , so we will be making this often but will be doubling the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This was fantastic! Of course, like so many others I modified the recipe. I sliced up 1 Italian sausage link and cooked it with the hamburger. I added 1 tsp. of Italian seasoning; I used 1/2 of 12oz can of tomato sauce and 1 12 oz. can of diced tomatoes. I added to eggs to the cottage cheese and sour cream and I left out the cream cheese, green onions and Parmesan cheese. My recipes makes 6 servings at 465 calories a serving. My husband and I just raved all weekend we loved it so much. One more thing, when you take it out of the oven (we baked it for 25 minutes) let it sit for about 10 to 15 minutes -- the flavors meld and the taste is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girleypearl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Sobrante, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
We love this. My grandma makes it, and we always devour it. We just mix the meat and cheese mixture together, then add it to the noodles and bake it. Much easier!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
nothing special- expensive to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chasityk5592

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
This was fabulous! I followed the recipe exactly, and my husband loved it so much he had seconds, and took some for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
This is the same recipe that my mom always used when I was a kid. It was always my favorite, and I requested it for birthday dinners. When I make it now I always wish I could eat the whole pan. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Moothart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA
Living In: La Habra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States