Hamburger Cheese Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Don't let the less-than-delicious name fool you, this is really good! The sauce is just "eh", so instead of this one, I use "world's best pasta sauce" from this site, cook the pasta, and mix with the cheeses, then pour the sauce over the top and bake. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4NonBlondes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was good, but not great. I did leave out the bell pepper because I did not have it on hand. It actually tastes like a creamy hamburger helper. My 6 and 4 yo did not like it. My husband and I enjoyed it but it won't make our regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
My daughter recently became a vegetarian. So I substituted the beef for soy crumblers and also added shredded carrots to the garlic/onion mixture and sautéed . Added more sauce as previously stated and mixed everything together topped with parmesan and ..Viola...GREAT vegetarian dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
omg delicious. used a reviewer's suggestion of prepared tomato sauce. I always have a bag of frozen pepper/onion mix on hand so used that with hamburger. it doesn't form a solid mass (like lasagna) so maybe everything could be mixed together instead of layering, but I layered it like recipe called for. and here's the clincher for me: my toddler loved it. thank you for this recipe, it's a welcome change from boring noddles & hamburger combo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Loved this! Took advice of others to add more sauce (using 1/2 jar of pasta sauce). I used Ricotta cheese instead of cream cheese & leeks instead of green onions (what I had in the fridge). Large shell pasta. So delicious! Didn't last long in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Okay, I made a lot of changes to simplify and make it quicker. I used spaghetti noodles, broken in half, for the pasta. I used a 26-ounce can of spaghetti sauce, a small can of mushrooms, no cottage cheese, and I doubled up on the sour cream. I combined the meat sauce with the cheese and sour cream and layered noodles and sauce twice. It was really good! Thanks for sharing, Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
nothing special- expensive to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chasityk5592

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly. I thought it was tasty, I liked the cheese filling, but thought it was a bit too much. Next time I will double meat and sauce mixture -- maybe w/italian sausage. Overall, it was really good - a big hit with the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I followed the recipe as for the most part. I used a 26 ox jar of sauce instead of the two cans and I used 1 1/2 lbs of ground beef. It has a nice taste but could use more of the cheese filling. Next time I will double that part or maybe triple and add an extra layer of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
We really liked this and I would have given 5 stars but I made several modifications one by accident and some on purpose- didn't have green pepper,took other reviewer's advice for more sauce and added 26 oz. tomato sauce, accidentally added a 16 oz. cottage cheese instead of 8oz. I also mixed everything together based on another reviewer's suggestion. I don't think that was a good idea as the noodles that were not covered with sauce were a little dry. Next time I will make the layers. Overall a good, quick meal that I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Stewart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States