Hamburger Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2006
I think this is a great recipe. I used what I had. Skipped the corn and celery. Didn't have canned chili either. Here's what I did. Added garlic, celery salt, used homemade taco seasoning, chili powder and used rice instead of noodles. Made the rice, dumped everything else in the frying pan. Added the rice once it was done and put the whole thing in the oven. I have oven safe pots so I skipped the casserole dish. Also topped with cheddar cheese. Excellent dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
This tastes very similar to "chili casserole" also found on this site. In addition to the 1/4c salsa, I added 1/3c taco sauce to make it a little creamier, used macaroni noodles instead of egg noodles and mixed in about 1/2c of sharp cheddar cheese in with it all. Apprx 5 minutes before completion, I sprinkled another 1/2c cheese overall to melt. Very tasty and hearty lunch. Warmed us up in this frigid MN weather we're having here! Thanks Sara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2000
This recipe is filling and easy but to add more taste, mix some shredded cheddar cheese into the casserole and turn up the heat on the oven to about 350 for 20 minutes and it has more flavor. Good, easy, fast and cheap! That gets me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
I loved it. I served it with cornbread. My bf loved it. So good I sent the recipe to everyone I know. So good I have made it once a week for 3 weeks. I did change it a bitt. Added some garlic and added hot pepper flakes to the burger. Also added some colby jack cheese on top. I made it with expesive and cheap chilli. It works well with both. I even printed it out and added it to my recipe box with all my grandma's old recipes. 9-22-05 Tried this recipe again last night and used Campbells Chunky Chilli. This dish came out with very little flavor. I would not recommend using Campbells Chilli use Nally's or store brands even Aldi's chilli. I have used many different types of Chilli and this recipes works, but not with Campbells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
It is very good but I altered it because of the reviews I read, the original way may be a bit bland. Instead of noodles I had mexican style rice, I added colby jack cheese, instead of regular skinless diced tomatoes I substituted stewed tomatoes which gave it more flavor. I also added some corn chips on top to give it a bit of texture. Then when I served it I added a dallop of sour cream. Made it a lot more flavorful and a bit spicier. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
I made this last night for my family and it was a huge hit! I substituted rice for egg noodles (was out of noodles), and used salsa with cheese blended in instead of regular salsa. I also added a little garlic to the hamburger and onion as I was cooking it, and added shreaded cheese blend on top of the mixture, baking as directed. My wife had seconds and thirds, and my 5 year old son loved it too (and he is pretty picky). I will try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I just made this the other night and it turned out really good! I didnt have everything on the list so I had to alter it a little. I didnt have any celery so I just ommited that. I didnt have any chili so I used pork and beans and spiced them up with some red pepper flakes and kicken chicken seasoning (really gave it great flavor!) I used rice instead of noodles as recommended in the other review, topped it with cheese at the end and served it with a dollop of sour cream. Great reheated for lunch the next day too. My husband wants me to keep it as a regular dinner option. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
Very good & quick . but do add cheese on top.heat at 350 for 20min.Its a keeper..FIN-N-FUR
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
I modified this recipe a bit. I left out the celery and the salsa (because I didn't have any) and exchanged the egg noodles for two chopped potatoes since neither I or my husband are big egg noodle fans. Because I put in the potatoes, I upped the cooking time to about 45 minutes and upped the oven temp to about 350. The result was a hearty meal a little thicker than chili but with the same great flavor. It actually seemed better warmed up the next day than right after it was cooked. Yummy topped with cheese and sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
We loved it, including the kids. Used more hamburger and fewer noodles, just because that's how we like it, and added cheese to the top, but other than that used the exact recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States