Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
These rolls were so bad they prompted me to join AllRecipes so I could write a review. I followed instructions exactly and doubted the rolls would rise in just 20 minutes. I did use instant yeast. They didn't rise any, but I went ahead and baked them. They were heavy and tasted strongly of yeast. We couldn't eat them. I also only got 9 hamburger-sized rolls out of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
This recipe is a pretty basic white bread mix, one I've made before. Very easy to make and the buns were great; since it's a basic recipe, you can add any herbs or seeds you'd like. Also, let the dough rise for 2 hours, not 20 minutes; 20 min just isn't enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
These were great and my family really did think they were gourmet! I did, however, warm the milk in the microwave to about 110 degrees before adding the yeast and the rest of the ingredients. Next time I might brush the tops of the dough with egg whites and sprinkle sesame seeds. Now that I have made these, I don't think I could go back to regular, store bought buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
This is a great recipe but it does better if you warm your milk - and if you aren't using rapid rise yeast, you better let it rise for a couple of hours with a wet, warm towel over it away from a breeze. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
Good recipe. I halved it and it worked great. I found that nearly two hours were necessary for raising. These are more substantial and hold up better to juicy burgers than purchased buns. They're worth the time and effort
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
This recipe was alright. All the same I don't see what the fuss was about. I didn't find the buns extra specail, or anything. But they were decent. However, at least in my case, they didn't rise a great deal, after 2 hours even. I more had ... buns. I was hoping for large buns, or larger anyway. Something larger then a dinner role. Probably won't try this one again. But it has worked for some, just not for me! Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBEB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
The buns were OK but I only got 13 buns and they didn't rise at all in 20 mins. When I finally did bake them they were heavy. I think I would try the recipe again but make the rolls a bit bigger and let them rise longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
Fabulous!!!....Very easy...very tasty..I used this recipe for every thing from hamburger buns to deep fried Italian Hot Dogs!...The only downfall of the recipe is that my family no longer enjoys store bought buns when I'm trying to make a simple hamburger dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beachwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
Great recipe in my opinion. Contrary to the other reviews, my bun raised just fine. Yes, it did take about an hour and a half, but all my bread takes that long. Fast, easy, few ingredients, no kneading, what more do you want in a recipe? I put mine in the oven (turned off) with a big bowl of HOT water under the rack. Makes all of my bread raise nicely. I make big burgers with LOTS of conciments, so these buns were perfect, nice and dense. I halved the recipe and made 8 large buns. Warming the milk helps, and to get 25 buns out of the full recipe I would think they would have to be pretty small. I liked this recipe a lot. As I said, my buns raised nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
Split the recipe in half and do the dough in an automatic bread machine. The abm does the initial rise and punchdown, then do the 20 minute final rise. It comes out kinda dense, but okay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States